Words Spoken – January 18

So he reassured them by speaking kindly to them.”  (Genesis 50:21)

 

Today as I read the ending of Genesis, the last words that left the tongue of Joseph’s

mouth swelled up in me, like never before. I was reminded of Jesus’ words as he left

those in attendance:  kind words.  Oh, how I desire my family to hear kind words coming

out of my own mouth before I breathe my last breath and join my ancestors in death.

 

The life of Joseph leaves us with many godly characteristics to desire. This remarkable

 man of God received much abuse throughout his life.  Through these trials and sufferings he became more spiritual as he chose to embrace the God of his father, Jacob.  From a

very young age he models spiritual integrity.  God uses the difficult experiences in his

life to prepare him for what was to come later on in his life. 

 

Throughout his lifetime he could have become bitter and angry towards his older

brothers; however, time and time again we see his showing mercy towards them through

the words he spoke.

 

Joseph truly understood who he was in the picture.  He knew he was part of an over-all

plan.  How his brothers chose to treat him, did not affect the way he behaved back.

His confidence was in God alone; and because of this he was able to speak with kind words. 

 Our words are an extension of our heart.  Our words extend what we desire deep within.  

 

·        Reassure:  encourage, comfort, console, inspire, relieve

·        Kindly:  sympathetic, thoughtful, favorable, carefully

 

By reassuring those around me with kind words I am drawn to show GRACE in my speech.

 

As I thought about our daily choice of words my NIV Study Bible seem to sum things up

nicely.  [Below]  Now as I listen to myself talk, my desire is to pray for words that will

comfort people by showing sympathy – rather than use words motivated by Satan.

 

Words Motivated by Satan

Bitterness

Envy

Selfish ambition

Earthly concerns and desires

Unspiritual thoughts and ideas

Disorder

Evil

 

 

Words Motivated by God and His Wisdom

Mercy love for others

Peace

Consideration for others

Submission

Sincerely

Impartiality

 

 

Apply:  Just like a tree is identified by its fruit, wisdom is identified by the words that

flow off of our tongue.  Do we find ourselves tempted to fan the fire of contention? 

 Spread the gossip?  Quarrel?   May the words coming out of our mouth be motivated by

God rather than by Satan.

 

Reflect:  “If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling

 yourself, and your religion is worthless” (James 1:26). Words spoken are like a fire – we

can neither control nor reverse the damage they can do.  Knowledge is nothing unless it

 is lived out. 

 

Dear Father, Oh, how we love and adore You.  Thank you for the gift of Your Holy

Spirit, who lives within us and teaches us Your way.  May Your words grow deep into

 our bone marrow and produce words that are pleasing to You.  Help us to live out the

 knowledge we are learning together.  The only way this can happen is if You grow larger

within us.  Help us Lord, to model after Joseph.  May one of our characteristics noticed

by our own clan members be our kind words spoken.  In the name of Jesus we pray,

Amen.

 

6 thoughts on “Words Spoken – January 18

  1. Yikes, sweet sisters, I noticed my post is all over the page. I’m not so sure how that happened. I will try using a smaller font and repost as see what happens. Maybe, it was too long! Imagine that! Hugs, Lori

  2. Sweet, Lori! Thank you for your beautiful post! I am going to share with my children this morning! May each word we speak today be spoken with love, with grace and with mercy. May we hear the words come out of our mouths and may we stand on the truths of The Word. Jesus is the Word! John 1:1-4In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through Him all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made. In Him was life and that life was the light of men. May we let our light shine through the words we speak today…kind, true and necessary. ;)Love and hugs,Bethany

  3. Words…they have the power to uplift and the power to tear down. Which will I choose today? Yes Lori, we have to continually be filled with the Spirit to get this right. Left to our own merit, our words come flying out and they can be all wrong. Submitted to the Holy Spirit, our words are reassuring and kind. Oh, that it would be so for me, Lord!My reading today starts back at Genesis 19. We read where Lot is living in Sodom. Prior to this chapter, Lot “looked in the direction of Sodom; he then pitched his tent “near” Sodom…and today we find him “in” Sodom. Just like us in so many ways. Surrounded by sin, we find ourselves inching ever closer until one day we open our eyes and see ourselves right in the muck and mire. How did we get here? By looking in the wrong direction…by inching closer to it by the people we surround ourselves with, by how we spend our free time, by oh such subtle ways. But God! He rescues Lot. In 2 Peter 2:7, Lot is called “righteous”….not by our standards but by God’s. He is considered righteous on the basis of simple faith alone. At some point in his life, Lot had confessed that God was Who He said He was and had believed it. How many people do we know who have professed Christ as Lord…but who now seem to be dwelling in Sodom? In fact….that was me once upon a time. God rescues those Who have called upon His Name. He plucks from the mud those Who He calls righteous. Thank You Lord for that!Morgen

  4. Lori and Morgen, both wonderful thoughts to ponder on today as I go about my day. A verse I have been praying lately is “Do not let unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building other up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29My thoughts from FB:Day 18~Joseph’s dreams came true, his brothers and father did indeed come and bow to him and he was able to save his whole family through God’s providence. I just love the verses that show that no matter what other people may do, God is sovereign and He can turn what people mean for harm into good (50:19-20, 45:8). I love what the HCSB notes say, “God had transformed the soot of human sin into a diamond of divine blessing.” Joseph’s story is the foremost example of Romans 8:28. This shows me that I can trust the Lord and that anything He allows into my life it is because He is going to use it in some way for my good or for the good of others. Through Joseph’s experiences his faith roots grew very deep and his journey saved the lives of many people. For me it has been some of the hardest things I have had to go through with the Lord that grow my roots deep and when we have those deep roots it effects other people. Joseph’s brothers were saved and they saw a display of true forgiveness, a display of God’s character in their brother’s life.Right now I am going through a growing process with God and I know He is growing my roots. My prayer is that the roots He is growing will effect others just like they did in Joseph’s life.I also reflected on how the brothers blessings were effected by the choices they made in their lives. The choices we make today not only effect today, but they effect our future and the future of our descendants. Have a blessed day sisters!Brandee

  5. (Repost – January 18, 2012)I love coming in here every morning and be blessed by the post and the comments. Our words are like seeds we plant and it results in a harvest later – good or bad. May we always sow the seeds that are motivated by God’s word instead of the enemy’s. For someone who professes to love Jesus I sadly find myself on the enemy’s side when it comes to my words and attitude. Thanking God for second chances. Speaking of second chances – my reading today is on Genesis after the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. It says Abraham and Sarah went down to the Negev and in Gen 20:2 he told Abimelek that Sarah is his sister. I thought I got lost on my reading but no, he already had Ishmael, God made a covenant with him (Gen 17), he already met the two angels + the Lord and bargained for Lot’s deliverance from the destruction of Sodom (Gen 18:32). This was Genesis 12:13 all over again. It comforts me that even the Abraham, the father of faith, whom God considered righteous, was not perfect. Even after he had these close encounters with God, he still failed from time to time. God forgave him. Certainly I can also forgive the people who have failed me time and time and time again. “For he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.” Psalm 103:14

Your thoughts?

