January 20, 2012 Discipline

Since my word for 2012 is discipline I thought it was only appropriate that I dig a little deeper into Job 5:17 – But consider the joy of those corrected by God! Do not despise the discipline of the Almighty when you sin. For though He wounds, He also bandages. He strikes but he also heals.

I doubt very highly if we are joyful when God is disciplining us but wait, he says to CONSIDER the joy of those corrected by God….I know I can relate to being corrected by God. Although the correction was painful, the joy that comes is immeasurable.

I went through a season of God’s correction but through that season God bandaged my wounds and His tender hands healed my heart.

Discipline is defined in dictionary.com as to bring to a state of order and obedience by training and control.

As Eliphaz continues on in Job 5, he gives the following actions of God…..
He wounds
He bandages
He strikes
He heals
He rescues
He keeps you from evil
He saves

This is what God will do for us as we follow in His obedience. What are the benefits of discipline? Eliphaz continues in chapter 5 with…..
You will be safe from slander – I no longer fear what others may say about me because God is defining who I am in Christ and with each new day, He gives me a strength to stand on His Word and His promises.
You will have no fear when destruction comes. Perfect love casts out all fear and we are made perfect in Christ. We are not given a spirit of fear but a spirit of power, of love and of self discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7
You will laugh. Rejoice in the Lord always, I will say it again rejoice. Phil. 4:4. Do we feel like rejoicing, not always but even in the darkest pit we can hold onto the promises and truths of His Word and know that joy is coming. We can rejoice because we are loved and we are forgiven even as He leads us through the painful process of discipline.
You will be at peace. Jesus gives us instruction and encouragement right before He is arrested starting in John 14 – 16. In John 16:33, Jesus states, I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. Amen!
You will know safety. He gives us boundaries and we know He protects us. In Job 1:9. Even satan acknowledges the wall of protection around Job. God promises to work out all things for the good of those who love Him. So, even though the Accuser says we aren’t safe and tries us to buy into that lie, His words says we are safe. We are in God’s hands. In John 14:1, Jesus states, Do not let your heart be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.
You will have many children – your descendants will be plenty. We touched on this last week and I am sure Eliphaz was referring to physical children, I am taking it one step further and applying it to spiritual children. We will plant many seeds of God’s love if we choose to walk in obedience and submit to His discipline. Jesus asks us to plant and God will water to bring up many descendants after us to carry on His love and faithfulness.
You will go to the grave at a ripe old age, like a sheaf of grain harvested at the proper time. God will complete the work He started within us and what a glorious day when He calls us home!

Romans 5:1-5 reads, therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character, and character, hope. And hope doesn’t disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us.

We all desire to be woman of godly character but to have character we must go through the suffering to produce perseverance which produces character and through the development of our character God gives is hope as He pours His love into our hearts so we may pour His love to the people that He has placed in our lives.

So today, let’s rejoice and be glad that God loves us enough to discipline us and bring us back to Him. Let’s not despise the discipline of the Almighty but take comfort in the fact His loving hands heal us and bandages us!

Have a blessed day! Hugs and love to all
Bethany.

7 thoughts on “January 20, 2012 Discipline

  1. Just like we discipline our own children because we love them; God disciplines us only out of His great love for us. And sometimes, like our children do to us….we rebel, we reject, we detest the discipline. We aren’t able to immediately see the love behind it…we feel prideful, rejected, embarassed, etc, but…if we can know the truth (because the bible is our source of truth), that it is because He first loved us so that He disciplines us; and if we can trust that truth, we can then be thankful for discipline. We can know that fruit will follow if we humbly accept the discipline. Yes Bethany, thru His discipline, He saves us for something better!I read today about Jacob and Esau. One part made me think of the different fasting we have been doing. Esau traded in his birthright for the immediate pleasure of food. He acted impulsively, wanting to satisfy his immediate desires without thinking of the long term effects of his decision. We do the same thing, don’t we? When we see something we want our first impulse is to get it! We have immediate gratification, but the long term consequences are soon realized. Lord help each one of us to ask You first what is best for us. To not act like the world acts and grab onto anything that looks, or feels, or tastes good right now; but to want what You want for us. To wait on You. To follow Your lead. Help the Spirit in us to fight back the flesh in us. You are a glorious and good God and we trust that You have our best interests in mind. amen.Happy Friday to all!Morgen

  2. The past two weeks have been anything but easy. Sin revealed. How much more is there dear Father? Morning after morning, I’d continue to call out to Him. More! Knowing full well: my heart is black. Humbled beyond words today, His word alive, cutting through the filth that looms within, keeping me from knowing all He has to freely offer. And, yet – at the very same time pouring down His love for me. A closer attachment to Him. Profoundly tender moments that fill my heart with joy, that draws me to repent some more. To seek to know Him even more. Revelations are not easy. But, this road we’re traveling is straight and narrow. I’ve told him boldly that I want to be defined by who I am in Him. I don’t want to be defined by my things of the world. I’ve pleaded with Him to get me to that point. What I’ve come to know, is that my current “trial” keeps me asking for wisdom, “Ask and it will be given to you: seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you” (Matthew 6:7). But, the key is that we are examining our own motives and not judging those around us. We want to be guided, counseled, and instructed through the Holy Spirit. We want it badly. We want wisdom from God. We are told, “consider the joy of those corrected by God!” (Job 5:17). Everything God will do for us was shared by Bethany today. I pondered over this and thought about it during my intimate time with Jesus this morning. I said to Him, what? What do you want me to see today? He said, do you want to be defined by Christ? Yes, yes, dear Lord, you know that has been my heart-prayer, daily asking You for this! Well, it is the testing of our faith that produces this! If we want to “lack nothing and be complete” (James 1:4) then, we have to let God finish His work in us. THE WORK IN US. That was the key during my walking this morning. Not the work in OTHERS’. ME! My prayer is that my eyes would be pure as I gaze at those around me, seeing the good in them, and allowing Him to show me, the parts within that need changing! OUCHBut, the part that hit me hard, was we have to believe. BELIEVE and “wait” out the trial, knowing God’s will is perfect. And, during this time, we continue to embrace Him, cling to Him, and ask Him for wisdom. We can freely ask, and we can continue asking as long as our heart desires! (Matthew 6:7) “But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt” (James 1:6) As we seek Him, we are connecting with Him. We are communicating with Him. Daily, “we place our lives, our loved ones, our needs, and our wants in the hands of God alone. We pray and can know beyond question that God hears” (Beth, James 51).If we do not believe then we are doubting. If we doubt we will not receive wisdom from the Lord. (James 1:6) And, the part that was made most known to me this morning:“Seek ye first the kingdom of God,” (Matthew 6:33)It always gets back to furthering His kingdom.The bumps in the road, the hard places, the sufferings that beat us up and leave us exhausted also give us hope: joy as He grows within us changing us, molding us into His very own image. CHANGING “ME”“Full-grown”“fully developed”“lacking nothing”That we each may be defined by Him! My prayer to be defined by Him, – certainly was God’s desire. He led me to ask for this, rather to plead for this, and day by day, He is showing me the road to victory. Wow, you guys, another deep week in His Word. May He bless us today for our deep love for Him. May He mercifully guide us and show us His way. May He speak to us through the power of the Holy Spirit.Thank you sweet sisters. God has used you all to reveal bucket full’s of sin looming within! Chisel, chisel, chisel…and, to know: He is not done yet! Lori

  3. Because I am short on time this morning I just say AMEN, AMEN and AMEN to what all of you have said today!!! I am so looking to the fruit that discipline is growing in my life. It is NOT easy, but I know it is worth it!!! Here is my FB post from today…a little different spin on the same verses in 5:17-18 :)Sometimes what we think needs to be said is really not what needs to be said at all. Sometimes the best thing to do is be quiet. That was my concluding thoughts today as I read our reading and was thinking about what was said yesterday. When someone is going through a devastating time in their life, the one thing they may not need to hear is “God works all things out for good for those who are called according to His purpose.” Although that is a true statement, it might not be what will comfort them in those moments of intense suffering. That is where we find Job and his friends. Although Eliphaz made some true statements and valid points, it was not the time and place and his heart motivation was not in the right place. The one statement that stuck out to me the most was, “See how happy the man is God corrects; so do not reject the discipline of the Almighty. For He crushes but also binds up; He strikes, but His hands also heal” (Job 5:17-18). Yes, God’s discipline is for our own good and we do benefit when we are being disciplined, Hebrews 12:10-11 makes that very clear, but Eliphaz was applying a truth to the situation and making assumptions that were not correct. The Expositor’s Bible Commentary says, “Eliphaz as a counselor is a supreme negative example. Great truths misapplied only hurt more those who are already hurting.” What Job needed instead was a friend who would be a support for him, who would always be pointing him back to the Lord but not in a misguided way. Job says, “A despairing man should receive loyalty from his friends” (Job 6:14a). Job was in a place of intense grief and suffering, he was struggling with aligning his beliefs and his current experiences. He needed support and encouragement, not misapplied truth. Sometimes the best thing we can do is just be quiet and just simply be. Be a hug, be a shoulder, be there to listen, be a praying sister on their behalf. Ultimately it is God who will bring comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3-4) to their hurting lives, maybe using us or not. Have a blessed day sissies! Off to run tons of errands and two doctors appointments 🙂 Love, Brandee

  4. PS At the end of my post I invited some of the ladies to share their experiences with suffering. We have some that have gone through loss of children, cancer, spouses, very painful things. I wanted to let them really open up today. I pray they do! Brandee

  5. Bethany and Brandee you leave me “speechless”. Discipline is one of those words that creates an air of anxiety. Reflecting on Hebrews 12:11, “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” I know that if I had not “endured” discipline I may have never come to know Christ at all. Our difficulty with discipline is our inability to see good as an end result even though we have the promise of it. Enduring discipline, no matter what form it takes, is what provides us with the treasured fruit of “righteousness” from God. As today enfolds I pray that each of us will accept the discipline that is put forth by our Heavenly Father so we too may accept His bountiful fruits.Have a glorious day,Mary Ann

  6. (Repost from January 20)Ah the dreaded “D” word. I don’t like getting it, I don’t like giving it either. But it’s a part of growing up be it at home or in our Christian walk. Yes, Morgen, we discipline our children because we love them (hello, children of mine who might be reading this in the future) and we can’t let them take the path that we know is wrong. If we with our limited vision knows that how much more the Omniscient God, who knows all and is not limited by time nor space. And as Bethany said, His hand of discipline is never harsh – the circumstances might be – but He is faithful to walk alongside us if we let Him.My reading is back in Genesis 25. It says “And Isaac prayed to the LORD for his wife, because she was barren. And the LORD granted his prayer, and Rebekah his wife conceived.” (Genesis 25:21 ESV)The commentary on my ESV Study Bible said: “Like Sarah, Rebekah is also barren. But the Lord responds to Isaac’s prayer, and Rebekah conceives.” Twenty-years later! “The children struggled together within her, and she said, “If it is thus, why is this happening to me?” So she [Rebekah] went to inquire of the LORD. (Genesis 25:22 ESV) Can you relate? You pray for something for so long and when it finally happens things are still not perfect. There are still struggles inside yourself, within your family, and you ask “Why is this happening to me?” I love that Rebekah herself went to inquire of the LORD. She did not take it out on anyone else but went straight to the source. And the Lord answered her question. Sometimes we get an answer right away, sometimes we wait 20 years. Either way, God answers. We just need to learn to wait.

Your thoughts?

