Jan. 21, 2012 “Keep on keeping on”–Mema Jeanne

Jan. 21, 2012- Sat. afternoon -“Keep on keeping on!!!”–Mema Jeanne

  Since I have struggled with what to share, I went back to notes from our past two years of study with Wendy Pope. In 2010, our title was “Forget God.” In Job 9: 9-13, Job cannot see or hear God. Aren’t we sometimes like that?? We know but we don’t feel. In vs. 21-24 Job seems to be very angry with God–God has control of us, but does he laugh at us? “ What’s the use of trying” in v. 29. In Job 8: 11-13, we questioned how someone who has had a relationship with God could choose to “forget” God. Then in all the negativism of words, we actually know the promise of the foreshadowing in 9:33: “If only there were a mediator between us, someone who could bring us together.” Now, I fast forward to comments made by 3 gals on the reading for Jan. 21, 2010:
Lori-” Through our trials, God’s grace can be manifested in us as a witness to the world of God’s power and grace. Trial after trial, God gives Job a deeper spiritual insight. His friends lacked compassion as well as spiritual insight, but not Job; he had integrity and feared God. (Job 1:1)
Morgen- Why do assume we are exempt from such things, when Jesus, God’s own Son, who did NOTHING wrong, came and suffered even worse things that Job? Who am I?
G&P- Job 8:4 –M. Henry states that “we and our children have sinned agst. God, and we ought to justify Him in all He brings upon us and ours; but extraordinary afflictions are always the punishment of extraordinary sins, but sometimes the trial of extraordinary graces…”
Morgen–found a commentary about 9:23-24- this was Job’s opinion that was stated; he was suffering so and very frustrated, so he was stating his personal feelings. Later, Job repents of what he said.
So, ladies, from 2 years ago, you have basically stated my concerns still today when I read this text.
From our reading in 2011, I have 3 pages of notes, but didn’t write down any comments from the posters. Wendy’s title was “Closing our tents to iniquity” based on Job 11:14. We again went over about forgetting God, and what we must do to keep our paths from leading us to forget God ( Prov. 3:5-6).
“Don’t white knuckle my iniquities. Leave them behind. They crowd my tent.”
From going back over these past 2 years and this year’s reading the same scripture, I have come to the conclusion that since God’s Word never changes, it is us who change from year to year, month to month, sometimes from day to day or hour to hour. We change for various reasons, and yet His Word is powerful in producing HOW we will use His promises for us. We change because of events that take place in our life, because we have been hurt or damaged, because we have lost someone so very special in our lives, because we’ve just had enough at work, at home, at school, etc., because our loved ones are choosing not to have a relationship with God. Regardless of all the things that bring discontent, anger, or frustration into our life, one fact still remains: I KNOW MY REDEEMER LIVES !!!!!!!!!!! That Redeemer holds true to His Word and that Word is the only constant in our lives. When we forget God, when our confidence hangs by a thread, we are leaning on a spider’s web (fragile life), vvs. 13-15, when we ask ourselves as Job did in 9:29-”What’s the use of trying?” We have the same answer for every circumstance in our life: v.33 “If only there were a mediator between us, someone who could bring us together.” We know that we know that that Mediator is the Holy Spirit which lives in our very hearts and souls. We change because of circumstances; He never changes and He is faithful to us through His Word. We know that time after time that Holy Spirit gets us through the sins of our daily walk, the trials, the deaths, the confusion, the disappointments of life. When we keep trying and trusting Him, we have the promises of what happens when we get rid of our sins and as a result of leaving all iniquity behind us: (Job 11:14-19)
Our faces will brighten with innocence
We will be strong and free of fear
We will forget our misery
Our life will be brighter that the noonday
We will have courage
We will be protected
We will rest in safety
We will lie down unafraid
Many will look to us for help
Our hope is found in Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior!!!
I am asking myself: When was it in my life that He brighten my face, when was a time when I felt strong and free of fear, what misery have I forgotten that I thought I never could forget, how has my life been brighter since…..,when did I feel His courage when I had none of my own, do I remember a specific time of His protection for me or for my loved ones, how many times have I felt safe b/c I knew that He never leaves me, how many times have prayer and meditation on Him brought me rest to be able to sleep, and how are we going to share this Savior with those who look to us for help?? Lots of things to consider, but we have His everlasting love and His God-breathed scripture to help us to keep on keeping on!
I will keep on trying,
Mema Jeanne

6 thoughts on “Jan. 21, 2012 “Keep on keeping on”–Mema Jeanne

  1. Whoa, Mema Jeanne, Holy Spirit goosebumps. This post was certainly worth the wait. It was nice to see the comments from a couple of years back. God never changes but we do. I’m hoping that the growth from two years was moving forward not regressing. What changes us? Yes circumstances definitely. Do we let those define us, though? We shouldn’t but it happens more often than I care to admit. When will I remember that no matter what happens to me here on earth, Jesus is preparing a place for me in heaven? Why do I, like Rebekah, try to manipulate situations and help out God? Rebekah “helped ” Jacob deceive his father and she never saw him again after that. God is faithful. He follows through on ALL His promises. Imagine how much less stressful life could be if we believe that. You gave me a lot to think about on this rainy Saturday afternoon. May I always remember the trial of extra ordinary graces. Thank you, Mema.

  2. Yes, yes girls, God never changes, it is us that change, never Him. I also marked 9:2 Mema that you mentioned about us having someone who justifies us now. We have Christ, He alone is our justification before God and when we do get to heaven, that place He is preparing T, what we can say when God asks why we should be there is because of one simple truth- I beleived in His Son, that alone will be enough. I did not get to read until late this afternoon with the craziness of today. When I got some quiet time, something stood out to me. Job 9:27-28, “If I said, ‘I will forget my complaint, change my expression, and smile,’ I would still live in terror of all my pains.” This was so powerful to me about how so often, especially as women, we will wear masks to not let others know what is really going on inside. We can put on that smile, that “church face” and pretend everything is ok when it is not, life might be crumbling around all around us but for the sake of pretenses we put on that mask and don’t let anyone in. I have always known that is one reason that when God brough Alice Ann into my life to draw me back to Him He used the internet and not a face to face friendship. I needed someone I could be totally real with from the heart side before I ever even saw her picture. I was so insecure that I would have never let her in to know the real me. We can put up good fronts but sometimes the pain is still there. Hope you all have a wonderful rest of the weekend! Will is done showering now so now it’s my turn to get in pjs and grab Renee Swope’s “A Confident Heart” before heading to sleep :)<3>Brandee

  3. Since God’s Word never changes, it is us who changes….this is what knocked me over the head, Jeanne! Like I stated I’ve been feeling a bit shallow with my prayers lately; a bit out of sorts and not connecting with God. It’s all me. I’m the one who’s changed. God is God and His Word is the same, today, tomorrow, yesterday, always. Thank you for this post!

  4. Mema Jeanne ~ What a treat to pop in this evening and spend time with you girls’! Your post today has reaffirmed to me James, the half brother of Jesus’, – heart’s desire. The book of James is “living it,” not just knowing God’s Word with our mind. So, when you said, “His Word is powerful in producing HOW we will use His promises for us,” the word “use” stuck with me. Use: (from dictionary.com)to put into serviceput to useto applyserve one’s purposeAs we read God’s Word, the Holy Spirit impresses upon us God’s will. We put His desires into action and as we do this he grow larger within us. Job wanted a mediator so badly. Why? So he could draw close to God, “someone who could bring us together” he stated (9:33). We have Jesus girls’! We can draw close to our Father, 24-7. Not only do we have Jesus, but we have the complete Bible and the Holy Spirit within us to enlighten our understanding. Trials are here to stay. Seasons will be difficult. Months may drag. Days may bring situations that remain hard to understand. Hours may induce pain. Even minutes can drag sometimes. But, all that God allows to happen is for our own good. “For you have been given not only the privilege of trusting in Christ but also the privilege of suffering for him” (Philippians 1:29).May we trust in the Lord as we wait upon Him to answer our prayers.Lori

  5. (Repost)Whoa, Mema Jeanne, Holy Spirit goosebumps. This post was certainly worth the wait. It was nice to see the comments from a couple of years back. God never changes but we do. I’m hoping that the growth from two years was moving forward not regressing. What changes us? Yes circumstances definitely. Do we let those define us, though? We shouldn’t but it happens more often than I care to admit. When will I remember that no matter what happens to me here on earth, Jesus is preparing a place for me in heaven? Why do I, like Rebekah, try to manipulate situations and help out God? Rebekah “helped ” Jacob deceive his father and she never saw him again after that. God is faithful. He follows through on ALL His promises. Imagine how much less stressful life could be if we believe that. You gave me a lot to think about on this rainy Saturday afternoon. May I always remember the trial of extra ordinary graces. Thank you, Mema.

Your thoughts?

