January 27, 2012 Wisdom

Job 28:28 reads that the fear of the Lord is true wisdom; to forsake evil is real understanding.

Proverbs 1:7 tells us the same thing. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge.

In the 28th chapter of Job, we are told that wisdom is found in God alone. He knows where it can be found. He sees everything.

Lord, help us fear You. Forgive us for seeking others before You. Enlighten the eyes of our hearts so we may know You, so we may glorify You and we may further Your kingdom. Help us take the focus off of ourselves and in everything we do, we do it for You and You alone!

James 3:13-18 gives us 2 kinds of wisdom. Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, my deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom!

That word humility means we must set aside all things pertaining to our own glory, our own advancement. The Lord has really been pricking my heart and I so desire to have a humility from the Lord! I do want to surrender ALL that I am for His glory and His kingdom! The process is hard but the journey is worth it! Job reinforces that wisdom is more valuable than gold and crystal. It cannot be purchased and the price of wisdom is far above rubies, worth more than the purest gold!

Lord, help us!! Open our eyes to the wisdom that comes from heaven. Wisdom that is pure, peace loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit. Impartial and sincere. (James 3:13-17).

May we lay down our pride and yearn to seek Him! Psalm 10:4 reminds us that in his pride the wicked man does not seek him in all his thoughts there is no room for God! Oh, weed out the thoughts that leave no room for You, Lord! Search our hearts! We thank You and praise You for the book of wisdom, that You sent Your Son to show us the light, to be the way and the truth! We love You, Lord!

In Jesus Name we pray, amen!
Bethany

4 thoughts on “January 27, 2012 Wisdom

  1. Thank you Bethany for these words. Today I challenge myself to look at my heart and know my weaknesses. “If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.” 2 Corinthians 11:30 Each day we are given the opportunity to learn from the books of the Bible, some of the lessons are difficult because they highlight our weakness…that highlighting is what increases our dependence on the LORD. The reading of Job this year for me has been one of those lessons, I have struggled but I know that I will see the “light” at the end of the tunnel very soon. My mother, in her very Catholic way, always said that “God doesn’t give you more than you can handle”, when I think of Job I realize that in comparison my crosses are light to bear.Happy Friday,Mary Ann

  2. Bethany – I remember that exact verse (28:28) standing out to me when I read thru Job. I love how you connected the dots to the Proverbs verse. A person can find WISDOM peppered all thruout scripture. I think God really wants us to get this concept….and once you get it you realize how the world’s idea of wisdom is so wrong. Don’t ya’ll just love God’s Word and what He teaches us?Today, my reading continues with the Joseph story. Speaking of a man of Wisdom! I am still enjoying paralleling Joseph with Jesus…and today I began to see how his father Jacob parallels the Father God. Joseph honored his father; his father loved his son. Praise You Abba!Morgen

  3. Bethany, I am so glad you stopped over at the Wellspring from Ann’s…my visit here has blessed tremendously! What a lovely space this is, and to peek in on your journey through scripture so uplifting! I do hope the scripture cards are useful to you. Many, many blessings!

  4. (Repost – Sorry all my comments were deleted when I was playing around in Posterous)Bethany,Amen! “Wisdom is found in God alone.” If we submit our will to His, cleanse our hearts of sins He has revealed and seek His direction, He will give us discernment. That is what Joseph said to Pharaoh when he was asked to interpret the Pharaoh’s dreams:And Pharaoh said to Joseph, “I have had a dream, and there is no one who can interpret it. I have heard it said of you that when you hear a dream you can interpret it.” Joseph answered Pharaoh, “It is not in me; God will give Pharaoh a favorable answer.” (Genesis 41:15-16 ESV)Joseph properly attributes where his knowledge comes from. My reading today is the payoff day for Joseph, so to speak. He finally revealed himself to his brothers and was reunited with his beloved younger brother, Benjamin. He suffered for 13 years because of what his older brothers did. But those years did not make him bitter, though. Oh how he must have prayed to be delivered and released. Psalm 105:17-19 and he sent a man before them—Joseph, sold as a slave. They bruised his feet with shackles,his neck was put in irons, till what he foretold came to pass,till the word of the Lord proved him trueGod showed him that his life has a purpose. That it is higher than just his comfort and release from prison. God had a bigger plan for Joseph and the nation of Israel. May we have a heart like Joseph that is always in tune with God’s will.

Your thoughts?

