February 1, 2012

Good Morning, sweet sisssies! The reading in the Chronological Bible was powerful this morning. My takeaway was how beautiful it is to see God working behind the scenes. He sees the Israelites persecution and all the while He is waiting for the perfect time to act. Exodus 2:25. He looked down on the people of Israel and knew it was time to act. As the Israelites were suffering, He was preparing Moses in the wilderness. The Lord remains faithful to His promise. What a blessed reassurance to rejoice in today. The Lord remains faithful TODAY just as He proved faithful to the Israelites. I also found it interesting that the Israelites were left leaderless. All the descendants of Jacob were gone yet the faith of their forefathers prevailed. The Hebrew midwives feared God and blessings and favored were upon them. Even when it probably seemed hopeless for the Israelite slaves, God lifted a little baby out of the water, Moses, and set him apart for the deliverance of the Israelites. I have to wonder, what is God preparing for each of us? Who is He preparing to be brought into our lives for a reason or just a season and what are we doing with our time? We have to believe He is preparing us but for what? He has a plan for each of us and may we now our knees and seek His will for our lives. May we see our time as His time to be prepared for the exact time when He says ?!?!?! May we desire to be His hands and His feet in this dark world and may we desire to further His kingdom. Open our eyes, Lord, to those you have places around us this day. Help us grasp that we have the power of the living God within us and You call us to love those You have placed in our lives. May we walk out the door of our home with Your eyes and Your feet to do Your will. May we see those You have blessed us within our homes as a gift from You. May we serve with Your heart, Lord. May we honor You in our thoughts, actions and words! Thank You for this day and for those You bring into our lives! We love You, Jesus, because You first loved us! In Jesus Name we pray, Amen Bethany
Sent from my iPhone

11 thoughts on “February 1, 2012

  1. Bethany, great start to Exodus. This morning as I read the verse Exodus 3:4 it gave me pause, “When the LORD saw Moses coming to take a closer look, God called to him from the middle of the bush, ‘Moses! Moses!’ “Here I am!” Moses replied.” I tried to “wrap” my head around the fact that (1) God knows us by name, (2) Moses was ready to hear, and (3) Moses was ready to obey what he was commanded. WOW…Matthew Henry states it so well in his commentary, “God gave a gracious call and Moses was there with a ready answer.” My prayer as we embark on our journey through Exodus is just that…that we recognize the LORD knows each of us by name, that we are “ready” to respond when He calls and that we obey what is commanded of us.Blessings,Mary Ann

  2. Amen B and MA! Just popping in before I head off to MOPS. I get to go hear Micca Campbell from P31 speak to our group this morning at my church 🙂 I am going to finish up the reading when I get back home and post. I tried to read last night before going to sleep and well, I only made it to chapter two, lol. Talk to you guys later….Brandee

  3. Bethany,Great post!God’s perfect timing took 400 years. While the Israelites were suffering in Qgypt, way on the other side, God was waiting for the Amorites to repent. God told Abraham, “After four generations your descendants will return here to this land, for the sins of the Amorites do not yet warrant their destruction.” Gen 15:16 (NLT) Four hundred years God waited. Imagine that!. How patient is our God? He did not want to destroy them but kept giving them chance after chance after chance.It made me think of the trials we go through. Maybe we are suffering and at the same time being purified, while God is patiently waiting for someone – maybe a loved one? – to repent before He delivers us. (2 Cor 4:12 So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.)Mary Ann, I like your three points. I also marvel that Moses did not question himself later on wondering if he really spoke to a burning bush. It must have been quite an experience, to say the least. Brandee, what a great way to start the day. I’m sure MOPS will be blessed.Have a blessed day, everyone!

  4. Oh and then this thought crossed my mind: It hardly seems fair for me to suffer while waiting for someone else to repent. (Grumble, grumble) But it was soon followed by another thought, Who had to suffer while waiting for me to come to my senses? (Convicted.) God is good.

  5. Hi Everyone,I posted on this blog for the first time last week. I really did not go into detail. I would like to re-introduce myself. I was on RTW with you all for the last 3 years and then this 4th year I am doing the Psalms study only. I have missed you all on RTW. I had emailed Lori about 4weeks ago and she told me about this blog, but the enemy set in with me with fear and I never visited until last week when Grace and Peace posted on the Psalms study, God used those words to bring me to this blog. I have read a few post this last week and already feel at home. These writings are beautiful. Lori- Love and Hugs to you.I am grateful to HIM for all of you, Debra Northern CA.

  6. Mary Ann, I also stopped at the place where Moses was called by name and how he quickly answered “Here I am”. Am I that quick to respond when I hear His call? I pray that I will not protest as Moses did before being used. I also caught the verses when God said that Aaron could be his spokesman but Moses would give him the words and be like God speaking to Aaron. The fact that God spoke to Moses and Moses relayed the message to Aaron to speak to the people was powerful. Moses was God’s choice to lead the Israelites from their captivity. Open my ears LORD to hear when you call my name. A song came to mind, “He knows my name, He knows my every thought….” Yes, He knows all about us and sent Jesus to be our Deliverer! Praise God!Have a great Wednesday sweet sisters. Brandee, tell us about your meeting.Teeny

  7. Teeny, I love that song especially the lines following what you quoted: "He sees each tear that falls and hears me when I call." Too often when God calls me I pretend not to hear Him especially if I know He is going to ask me to do something hard. May we be like Moses who turned right away. 

  8. Debra, welcome! Teeny and all, I will share more about Micca’s talk tomorrow when I have more time. Today I had a doctor’s appointment after MOPS and I just ran out of time to be on the computer. Here are my thoughts from today’s reading as I posted on the facebook page:Day 32~From the very beginning Moses’ life was directed for God’s ultimate purpose.That is what hit me so much today as I read the beginning of Exodus. From the time Moses was a baby God’s hand was directing his life. The baby boys were suppose to be killed, but Moses was spared. Not only was he spared, but God intervened to align his circumstances and upbringing just what it needed to be for him to live out the plan God had for him in the future. He was raised as an Egyptian even though he was Hebrew. God knew that later on he would need that knowledge of Egyptian thinking and Egyptian culture to come up against Pharaoh to let the people go. Just as He knew Moses needed to be raised in that Egyptian household for His greater purpose later, God also knows that some of the things He allows us to walk through are for His greater purposes later on as well. God was using those experiences to shape his later calling, just as He does ours. The story of Moses and his reluctance to say yes to God has always been so meaningful to me in my own walk with the Lord. To see that Moses, who became a great man of God, started out by saying , “I can’t do this Lord, send someone else.” Moses who gave God excuses overcame those and ended up being used in mighty ways. God has been directing each of our lives from the beginning, but so often we give Him excuses about why we can’t do what He has asked us to do. Anyone else given God excuses? I will be the first one to say I have! But what God shows us through Moses is it is not us that really has to do anything. It is all on Him. He said, “I will stretch out my hand and strike Egypt with all My miracles that I will perform in it.” (Exodus 3:20) Moses just had to be willing and God was going to do the rest. Lord, may I be willing and not give so many excuses! Talk to you ladies tomorrow~Brandee

Your thoughts?

