Thursday Feb 2nd….Being Passed Over Can Be a Good Thing!

Today, my reading is in Exodus10-12.  Moses (with God’s help…and a little from Aaron)…is workin’ it with Pharoah.  Boy!  What a stubborn hearted fellow that Pharoah is!  God gave him many chances to listen and to let go of his own agenda….but the consequences were apparently not enough…until…..the first Passover occurred.

God instructed the Isrealites to smear the blood of a sacrificed lamb on the doorframes of their homes.  The firstborn son of every family that did not have blood on the doorframes was killed.  This killing of a lamb (with no defects)  for it’s blood is a foreshadowing of the blood of Christ, the perfect  Lamb of God, Who gave His blood for the sins of all people.  What was the significance?  In killing a lamb, the Isrealites shed innocent blood.  The lamb was a sacrifice;  a substitute for the person who would have died in the plague.  The Hebrew people, from this point on, would understand that for them to be spared from death, an innocent life had to be sacrificed in their place.  

Passover is still an annual remembrance of how God delivered His people from Egypt.  What has God delivered you from?  Do you remember it?  Do you take time to thank and praise God for all He has done for you?  He has saved us from spiritual death and slavery to sin.  Next time we partake of the Lord’s Supper, let’s take the time to really remember all He has done for us.  Thank Him for His deliverance, and focus on His promise of new life with Him.  Amen, and amen!

 

Thursday Challenge:  Ask God to show you where you’ve become hard-hearted and stubborn like Pharoah.  Ask Him to help change your heart before the consequences get severe.

Morgen

7 thoughts on “Thursday Feb 2nd….Being Passed Over Can Be a Good Thing!

  1. Amen, Morgen! Thank you for the challenge! Search our hearts, oh Lord! Renew in us a right spirit! Enlighten the eyes of our hearts so we may know the hope to which You have called us, the riches of Your glorious inheritance and Your incomparable great power! Thank You for delivering us from evil! May we rejoice in Your wonders today! The Lord hardened the heart of Pharaoh for His glory! The verses where God hardens the hearts of humans always Sticks out to me. I always wonder why would He harden their hearts and keep them from knowing the love of God? As I prayed for the salvation of my husband and believed God would restore our marriage, desperately pleaded for his eyes to be open and knew God had the power and authority to open his eyes, yet didn’t…..I have to wonder and stand on the promise that God didn’t allow it to happen as I prayed so his miracles can multiply and that one day my ex husband will know the great I AM! I am grateful for those unanswered prayers and for the great I AM! Have a blessed day, sweet sissies! Love and hugs to all, BethanySent from my iPhone

  2. Ouch, ouch Morgen, I am convicted. The challenge to not have a hardened heart is one that I have dealt with for so long. When I have allowed hurt to enter my heart Satan has his “edge” and bitterness, anger, etc. all ensue. The longer my heart stays hard the less spiritual hearing occurs and I am numb to the Word of God. It is only through God’s grace that my heart softens. Today I pray that all of our hearts will not only be softened but receptive, full of life and in “beat” with God’s will.Have a glorious day in His Word,Mary Ann

  3. God has delivered me from so many things…and He’s still not done. There are days when I feel like Pharaoh in this verse:”Exodus 10:3 So Moses and Aaron came to Pharaoh and told him, “Thus says the Lord, the God of the Hebrews: ‘How long do you refuse to humble yourself before me? Release my people so that they may serve me!”Pharaoh’s hardness of heart cost him and everyone in the land who is not under the blood of the lamb, the life of their firstborn son. How heartbreaking is that? I pray that I do not get to a point in my life where God has to do something that drastic to catch my attention.Fresh in my mind is the livestream from Beth yesterday regarding anxiety. That if we hold on to it, it’s a form of pride. How long am I going to carry these burdens around, thinking if I mull them over my mind long enough I could come up with the perfect solution? I’m carrying things I’m not supposed to carry – then I wonder why I’m discouraged and tired and fearful. My prayer for us today is that God will help us cast/throw/roll these anxieties over to Jesus. May we all make that faith choice to do so.Have a blessed day everyone!

  4. Amen Morgen! Remebering, the Lord is so faithful and I know sometimes I get so busy looking at the present and the current problems I forget just how faithful He really is. I need this reminder often. G&P roll those anxieties girl! Just keep giving them to Him. He will carry them.Here’s my FB post today…another day a little short of time. Seems like that’s the story of my life these days girls. I ask you all please pray I can sleep better at night so I can get up to pray in the morning before anyone else gets up. When I do this my days go so much better, but lately I have not slept and so my day gets started later and the one thing I need to do-PRAY is usually the last thing I get to. That needs to change. Here’s my post:Ok ladies, I know some of you on here have read through all these stories before, but I also know there are a few that haven’t and I know there were some today that got to Exodus 4:24-26 where God confronted Moses and wanted to put him to death and were thinking “What?” It almost seems like it is out of no where. Moses just got called to be the man God was going to use to be the deliverer of His people, His chosen man. He was on his way to Egypt and we find that God wanted to kill Moses…what is going on? I didn’t understand this section either for a long time and I wanted to give you ladies some insight today from some other sources I have read that helped explain this passage of the story. Moses had not circumcised his son. Circumcision was required by God, it was part of living in the covenant that He promised to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob back in Genesis. This outward sign showed that they belonged to God, that they were part of His people. Moses had failed to do this. Matthew Henry and others explain this could be due to the fact that Moses had married a Midianite and that Moses was too indulgent of his wife. Moses had also been cut off from his people for a long time and his zeal for God may have started to take a back seat when he was not in their community. Because of these things God was angry. When his wife responded speedily and circumcised the son then the Lord left and Moses lived. He had a plan for Moses but Moses had to be in compliant with the covenant promises in order to fulfill that plan. He had to be following wholeheartedly and this was something that needed to be taken care of before they went any further. As we think about that, we can ask ourselves, “Are there things in my life I need to cut away so that I can go further with God and into the calling He has for me?” Do I have a love for someone or something, idols in my life, that prevail over my love for God? Am I neglecting being with other believers and therefore falling into ways that are not God’s ways? Am I omitting to do anything that God has asked me to? Delayed obedience is disobedience and that is sin. When God calls we need to remove as far away from us as we can the things which will cause us to stumble. I know it’s not always easy. The Lord has asked me to lay down a lot of things ladies over the years, but I promise you it’s worth it! Are there things in your life that need to be cut away to fulfill His call? That’s what we can think about today. Notes taken from Matthew Henry Complete Commentary on the Whole Bible

  5. Brandee,I’m glad you wrote that about Moses and the circumcision issue. I remember that was one of the puzzling questions that came to mind when I first read the bible. It seemed to come out of left field (yes, G&P making a sports reference). Thank goodness for commentaries!Before God can use us, we have to be right with Him. It doesn’t mean that we have to be perfect but there must be 100% obedience. I applaud our sissies who follow hard after God even if it means giving up something good. He knows all and He can be trusted.I was scrolling and saw Mary Ann’s comment about the hardened heart and it reminded me of a conversation I had with a very wise elderly brother. He said everytime we share the gospel with someone, we need to pray for the right timing. Because if we don’t do that and we share but their hearts are not yet ready, their hearts will harden as a result.

Your thoughts?

