February 3, 2012 – Tomorrow

Exodus 8:10 – “Do it tomorrow,” Pharaoh said. How many times do we say we will do it tomorrow? What are we putting off for tomorrow that God is calling us to do today? Delayed obedience is still disobedience. In Jon Courson, Bible commentary, he provides a topical study of Exodus 8:10. He explains that Pharaoh came to the stark realization that the frogs which he once encouraged his people to worship, that the frogs he depended on to keep the insect population at bay, were out of control. “They’ve got to go, Moses,” he insisted. Yet when Moses asked him when, he answered, “tomorrow” The Lord spoke loud and clear to me….what am I putting off for tomorrow that He is asking of me today? Friday challenge – Let’s be real and honest with our Father and with ourselves….what are we putting off for tomorrow that God wants us to do TODAY! We have the living power of Christ within us to do what He is asking us to do! Dear Father, we come to You in awe of Your grace and mercy. We thank You for the sacrifice of Your Son so that we may have life, everlasting life. We thank You for the gift of the Holy Spirit, turn our ear to Your voice and empower us to offer our bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God – this is our spiritual act of worship. Help us not to conform to the patterns of this world but infuse us with a new faith as You transform our minds so we may know Your good, pleasing and perfect will. (Romans 12:1-2) Thank You Father for this day, may we do all You have asked us to do for just this one day and cast all our other cares upon You. We trust You, Father! In Jesus name we pray, Amen! Have a blessed day! Love and hugs to all

Bethany
Sent from my iPhone

6 thoughts on “February 3, 2012 – Tomorrow

  1. When Pharoah said “do it tomorrow” I too found that odd. It had to be absolutely miserable for his people and himself to have frogs everywhere…can you imagine! Yet….his pride gets in the way…maybe it won’t take the God of the Hebrews to fix this mess….maybe he can will the frogs away in his own strength….Yes, what am I putting off for tomorrow that needs addressing today? What am I hoping I can handle in my own strength?In my reading this morning, God is leading the Isrealites not by the short path; but thru the wilderness. He doesn’t always work the way we think is best for us…taking us the short route; but He was protecting them from fighting with the Philistines….God saw the whole picture; the people did not. They would begin to complain and resist God’s leading. We need to follow Him willingly and trust Him to lead us around unseen obstacles. He sees the whole picture and we do not. God knows whats best for us. Thank goodness for that!Morgen

  2. “Tomorrow” – the procrastinator’s favorite word. I know because I am one. Like how God has been asking me to wake up earlier to have time to do my bible studies. He’s been trying for months now and I keep saying in my head, “Tomorrow, Lord.” then turn over in bed and go back to sleep. Well this morning He woke me up at 4:44 a.m. and would not let me back to sleep. I finally got up at 5:00 a.m. and went to my desk to read Revelation 3. It was soooo nice and quiet. My mind was unusually alert. I had time to linger in prayer. Why did I wait so long? My reading today is from Exodus 13-15. One of my nuggets is the same as Morgen from Exodus 13:17. God delivers us in stages. It may not always be the fastest route just what we – and our hearts – can handle at the time. He strengthens us little by little lest we become overwhelmed – or prideful. I also liked Exodus 13:21 “By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night.” The Lord’s presence was visible day AND night. As a visual person, I used to feel a twinge of envy when I read this passage. How blessed the Israelites were to actually see God moving ahead of them. They only had to look up! I say “used to” because now I realize as believers in Jesus Christ we have it even better: the Holy Spirit is IN us. Wow!Then on Exodus 14:12 “Didn’t we say to you in Egypt, ‘Leave us alone; let us serve the Egyptians’? It would have been better for us to serve the Egyptians than to die in the desert!”” How sad is this? God delivered them because He heard their cries and wanted something better for them. But at the first sign of hardship, they want to go back to the old life as slaves. May that never be said of us. Jesus went through so much to pay for our sins, may we not choose to forsake Him to be enslaved by sin.Finally Moses’ admonition to them in Exodus 14:13 “Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again.” Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance of the Lord. All I can say is – amen!

  3. I’m also guilty of putting off until tomorrow. It just doesn’t go away and the job gets larger and larger. Father God, restore my energy level so that I can get things done in a timely fashion. Your “tomorrow” comments Bethany have inspired me to set priorities and get going! Begin my day with the LORD in prayer, Bible Study, and then HE will direct my steps……Already, my taxes are done, old files shredded, several rooms vacuumed, in only two days! Praise the Lord for this renewed energy and Blood Pressure becoming normal again. For over a month my BP was very low and I was very lightheaded, but now I feel great. I have finally caught up with my Bible Studies and now for the rest of the house!!!Have a great weekend sweet sisters.Teeny

  4. Whoa, Teeny! That IS awesome!!! Praise God for your renewed energy and normal BP. You are way ahead of me as I haven't even started on our taxes and I won't even mention by filing and shredding. Now you have inspired me to do tackle some of it today. Not tomorrow. Today. 🙂

  5. Praise the Lord for your renewed energy, Teeny! Love seeing you on here and all you offer! Welcome! Today’s reading was rich with little nuggets but what struck me was when Pharaoh asked to be forgiven just this once and then to be blessed. I jotted down the verse then hit the treadmill with Wendy’s video from last year on the agenda to get me through. Of course, God in His goodness, knew the message she prepared last year was what I needed to hear! She spoke on this verse and the difference of forgiveness. How we can pray to God to “forgive” us when all we really want Him to do is remove the burden of the sin and our hearts are not willing to repent and turn from the sin itself. OUCH! So, the challenge for the day….what sin are we holding onto that we only want God to lift the burden off but not willing to surrender it and turn away from the sin whether it is in thought or behavior. OUCH! Dear Lord, search our hearts and enlightened the eyes of our hearts to Your will and desire. Transform us to be more like You. You have promised us the Counsel of Your Holy Spirit. Tune our ears to Your still small voice and give us the strength in the Power of You to turn away from the sin that is keeping us from letting Your light shine and from furthering Your kingdom. We love You, Lord! Help us surrender to You. We love You and want to honor You in thoughts, words and deeds! In Jesus name we pray, Amen! BethanySent from my iPhone

Your thoughts?

