February 13, 2012 – Without Blemish

Now we’re in Leviticus! I’m thankful for my Study Bible because 1. I don’t like blood – even reading about it makes me squeamish 2. my eyes started glazing over as I read the different offerings.

 

According to my ESV Study Bible, the key themes of this book are:

 

1. The holy Lord is present in the midst of his people (Ex. 40:34Lev. 1:1). The people of Israel must therefore properly address their sin and impurity and must strive for personal holiness.

2. In order to approach God, worshipers must be wholehearted in their devotion (1:1–6:7; 22:17–30).

3. Those who are called to be spiritual leaders, such as priests, bear a heavier responsibility than do the laypeople (chs. 4; 21). In addition to the outward holiness that the priests are granted when ordained, they are constantly commanded to maintain inner holiness (chs. 8; 9; 10; 21).

4. As seen in the Day of Atonement ritual (ch. 16), the total cleansing of sins and uncleanness is done when the innermost part of the tent of meeting is purified. Ultimate purification of uncleanness is impossible from the human side.

5. Atonement is a gracious act of the Lord by which sins and impurities can be dealt with (17:11).

 

The phrase “without blemish” caught my attention because it was repeated over and over again (Lev 1:3, 1:10, 3:1, 3:6, 4:3, 4:23, 4:28, 4:32). In some instances it specifically states “a male without blemish.” What I like about reading the bible this time around is I’m finding out more and more the correlation between the Old and the New Testaments. The repeated phrase of “a male without blemish” as a requirement for a sacrifice in the Old Testament has been fulfilled by Jesus Christ in the New Testament. So thankful that I do not have to be perfect to approach a holy God. Jesus did that for me.

 

There are five major offerings detailed in the book (see below for a summary). The burnt offering is the most costly offering there is, since it is completely burned up with nothing left (except for the skin, which the priest kept). 

 

 

Name

Emphasis Focus is on the general procedure or reasons for the offerings Focus is on the proper handling, eating, or disposal of the offerings
Burnt Offering underscores prayers of petition or praise ch. 1 6:8–13
Grain Offering pleasing aroma; often mirrors emphasis of the offering it accompanies ch. 2 6:14–23
Peace Offering fellowship with the Lord by having a communion meal ch. 3 7:11–36
Sin Offering atonement of a committed sin; metaphor of purification 4:1–5:13 6:24–30
Guilt Offering atonement of a committed sin; metaphor of compensation for wrongdoing 5:14–6:7 7:1–10

A priest sacrificing a burnt offering might look something like this:

Altar of burnt offering

[image from http://www.gallery.oldbookart.com/main.php?g2_itemId=11053]

I am truly glad to be born on this side of the Cross. While we’re not expected to offer burnt sacrifices anymore (thank you, Jesus!) I can’t help but think – for everything my Savior has done for me, I want to do something for Him. In heaven it is said that we are going to offer Him our crowns (Rev 4:10). Anne Graham Lotz said it beautifully in her book, The Magnificent Obsession:

“When you get to heaven and for the first time you see Jesus face to face don’t you think you would want something to give Him for all that He has given you? On that day will you have the ashes of a wasted life to press into his nail scarred palm? Or will you have a crown to lay at His nail scarred feet? Nothing I can give Him will be adequate for everything He has done for me. But a crown will be something to give.” 

 

What are you offering God today?


[Reading from  Blue Letter Bible Chronological Plan]

2 thoughts on “February 13, 2012 – Without Blemish

  1. Hey girls, T I will read this asap I promise! Here is my FB post from this morning…Day 44~Royal Priesthood”They also made a medallion, the holy diadem, out of pure gold and wrote on it an inscription like the engraving on a seal: HOLY TO THE LORD.” Exodus 39:30The medallion that was crafted was a seal that was placed on the turban that the priest wore and would have rested on his forehead. He was marked and sealed by God that he was holy. In the ancient world, seals were a sign of ownership or authority. The seal that the priest wore was a sign to all that he belonged to the Lord and that he served Him. Just as the high priest wore a seal on their forehead saying HOLY TO THE LORD, so do we. When we are saved the Holy Spirit seals us (Ephesians 1:13). Even though we can’t see the seal now, one day we will, “They will see His face, and His name will be on their foreheads” (Revelation 22:4). We are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for His possession (1 Peter 2:9). As I was thinking about this last night, I started thinking about how we are a royal priesthood and we have been sealed as HOLY TO THE LORD, but how often do I really live out of that realization? Do I live like I am a priest and holy or do I live in my own insecurities and following the pattern of the world? Sad to say lately I have been struggling and not living out of the this realization, living as if my life belongs only to me and not my Lord. I am choosing to make decisions today that reflect the fact that I am a chosen woman, I am a priest of the Lord, I belong to Him. I will go where He says go and do what He says do despite my insecurities and faults. Today I will proclaim the praises of the One who called me out of darkness into His marvelous light (1 Peter 2:9)!

  2. Both of you spoke so well to me today. T…I haven’t done the reading yet…I got the most horrid cold over the weekend and I just now moved out of bed…but reading your post first before I begin in Leviticus I think will help me immensely. 4 of us in my family have this horrid cold…we needed to buy stock in kleenex….Morgen

Your thoughts?

