Walking in Faith

“So they camped or traveled at the LORD’s command, and they did whatever the LORD told them through Moses.”  Numbers 9:23

As I read through today’s reading I am struck by this wilderness journey and how it is a “walk in faith.”  So many times we want to know the future, we want to have all of our “ducks in order” and we want to be prepared for anything that enters our path.  The Israelites on the other hand, simply walked in faith.  They didn’t know where they were going, they didn’t know what the future would hold and they certainly didn’t make preparations for the future they just, “…traveled and camped at the LORD’s command wherever He told them to go…” (v.18)  I truly envy them, their walk in faith should spur all of us to keep moving and trusting in God even when the way in front of us is unclear and the “clouds” are thick.  I am reminded that in the New Testament there are so many references to this walk in faith:

“Now faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is not seen.  For our ancestors won God’s approval by it.”  Hebrews 11:1-2 (HCSB)

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”  2 Corinthians 5:7 (HCSB)

It is interesting that I memorized both of those verses last year and never fully grasped the significance of them until I read this reading.  The Israelites were not blind they weren’t walking in a fog, they were putting all of their faith in God.  When I was researching this Scripture I came across a sermon on faith by John Knight that highlights 6 characteristics of what it truly means to walk in faith, they are:

  1. To walk in faith is believing when I don’t see it.
  2. To walk in faith is obeying when I don’t understand it.  Both Abraham and Moses are great examples of stepping out in faith with little to no understanding of what lies ahead.
  3. To walk in faith is giving when I don’t have it.  How many times have we thought about tithes and instead of giving back to the LORD what is His, we are concerned about the “what-ifs” of our day to day living expenses?  He always provides.
  4. To walk in faith is persisting when I don’t feel like it.  Moses is a great example of perseverance, “By faith he left Egypt, not fearing the king’s anger; he persevered because he saw him who is invisible.”  Hebrews 11:27 (NIV)
  5. To walk in faith is thanking before I receive it.  Learning to praise God in advance is the art of relying on Him, therefore, not waiting to acknowledge His gift to us.
  6. To walk in faith is trusting if I don’t get it.  How many times do we blame God when we don’t get what we “think” is good for us?  Real, true faith is continuing to walk in faith even though it feels like the world is falling apart around us.  It is through our storms that God reveals Himself to us.

Knight finishes his thoughts by asking the following questions:

Am I walking by faith?  Am I believing when I don’t see it?  Obeying when I don’t understand it?  Giving when I don’t have to?  Persisting when I don’t feel like it?  Thanking before I receive it?  Trusting if I don’t get it?  I challenge each of us today to ask ourselves the very same questions.

Corrie Ten Boom wrote, “If you look at the world, you’ll be distressed.  If you look within, you’ll be depressed.  But if you look at Christ, you’ll be at rest.  It all depends on where you’ve got your eyes.”  Our eyes should be focused on the “cloud”. let us keep our heads out of the clouds and learn to be led by it instead.  I pray that I will always be willing to follow His “cloud” and go where He sends me, even if it leads me out of my comfort zone.

Blessings,

Mary Ann

5 thoughts on “Walking in Faith

  1. ooohh, so good MA! I too want this kind of faith that you described. It is a daily battle; not taking back control, but laying it at God’s feet. My reading is in Leviticus…I am learning about the different sacrifices…the burnt offering; the grain offering; the sin offering; the peace offering. These are hard to grasp..having to do these over and over for obvious sins and for sins they were unaware of. But it ties into your teaching today….do it by faith. Just do what God says! Trust and obey, cuz there’s no other way! He knows what it best and I do not (even though my actions usually say otherwise). Oh, to trust in Jesus and take Him at His Word. May it be so.Morgen

  2. MA, this one is a keeper and is going in my penzu along side what I wrote today. What a challenge to really live by faith and not by sight. It is so hard and I agree with Morgen it is a daily battle. Morgen I pray you are feeling better today!Here is my FB post~Day 45~ “… and the glory of the LORD filled the tabernacle.” Exodus 40:34When Moses and the people had done everything exactly as God had commanded His glory came and filled the tabernacle. What would happen sisters if we did everything just as God commands us? His glory would fill us, we are His living tabernacles! His glory will be seen in our lives when we are living in His commands and doing things His way. I thought of what our Pastor said this past weekend about being filled with the power of the Holy Spirit and how our zeal can fuel our knowledge, which can fuel our zeal. We need to know why we believe what we believe-knowledge, but knowledge without zeal does not show passion to a world that desperately needs hope. Our knowledge needs to then fuel our zeal for the Lord and then will His glory be seen in our lives. People will see us and know something is different, people will see us and want what we have. That is what I want in my life, to be filled with His glory and to those looking make them crave Jesus by what they see He has done and is doing in me.Lord, may others see me and want more of You. Come and fill me today with Your glory as I walk in obedience to Your ways and Your commands. Amen.Off to get Valentine’s day things going. Love to all my sisters today!Brandee

  3. Sisters, I am so blessed each day as I read your words. Yes, Faith is believing without seeing! Morgan, your word, “just do it” reminded me of Mary telling the servants at the wedding at Cana, “whatever He says do, do it”. This brought to my mind an event in my own life. Briefly, A big problem at our Finance Office and I was told to go and see about it. I immediately recognized the error and told the supervisor what to do. I asked to use his phone and there on his desk was a scribled note and it said, ” whatever Teeny says to do, do it”. What an unexpected blessing was this for me! Later, I underlined Mary’s words in my Bible to remind me of God’s love and how He directs my life,May His love fill your hearts as you enjoy Valentine Day.Teeny

  4. Yes, I was also blessed with this post – as I am everyday. Thank you for putting it together so beautifully.My Leviticus reading has this phrase popping up repeatedly "and he realizes his guilt." A lot of that, I think, depends on our sensitivity to the prodding of the Holy Spirit. If we keep ignoring the promptings, we will come to a point where we sin repeatedly, go numb and not realize our guilt at all. I heard my pastor on the radio this morning as he preached about the lepers. He said leprosy is a disease where the body ceases to feel. It starts in our extremities – fingers, toes – where they start to go numb. Pretty soon the person will touch a hot stove and not realize it until they see the burn marks in their hands. They lack the capacity to feel pain.  As humans our tendency is to avoid pain at all costs and that's how the enemy peddles sin – "You won't feel anything." "Avoid the pain." "This will make you feel good."   We fall for the trap.  we keep doing it and doing it until yes, we don't feel the pain anymore but we're also left with the burn marks. Pain really is a gift from God because it is our indication that something is not right.   As we go about our day may we listen to the Holy Spirit and when we realize our guilt, to repent and ask God for forgiveness.

Your thoughts?

