February 17, 2012 – The Offering

The last few days I have been reading about the dedication of the tabernacle, the different offerings and sacrifices. It is a lot to read about and ponder on and the last few weeks I feel like something has been missing. I have been asking and praying. Wondering and looking for that which I thought was lost or missing. I couldn’t put my finger on it. I feel like I have been going through the motions of each day….doing just enough to get by for the next day of just enough. However on February 15th, I read that Moses set up the tabernacle. He Anointed it and set it apart as holy. (Numbers 7:1)

That’s cool, I jotted it down in my journal and yeah, I know. We are the living temples of Christ. We are set apart and holy, anointed with the Holy Spirit. Heard that one and Romans 12:1 was my memory verse for The first half of February. Therefore, I urge you brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God- this is your true and proper worship. Amen! Right on, sista! All the while something is still missing. I read on and the word offering keeps jumping off the page at me. As defined by dictionary.com, offering means to present for acceptance or rejection. To offer in worship or devotion. Anything offered as a gift. To propose or put forward for consideration. To present solemnly as an act of worship. Ohh, the word solemn intrigued me so I dug a little deeper…..solemn means grave, sober, causing serious thoughts, serious or ernest. Ouch! What am I solemnly offering to the Lord? What am I bringing to Him in my daily quiet time of reading and praying? What am I giving to Him through my living temple that is set apart and holy because of the shed blood of Jesus? That was a tough one to swallow and I had to chew on that one for a few days….still chewing if ya want to know the truth…it’s hard to swallow but in view of God’s mercy…he is breaking it down for me! Praise the Lord. The next days reading brought another zinger….Numbers 9:13 – But those who neglect to celebrate the Passover at the regular time…will be cut off from the community of Israel. If they fail to present the Lord’s offering at the proper time, they will suffer the consequences of their guilt. Neglect to celebrate…fail to present the Lord’s offering…hmmm…the lump I thought was hard to swallow just became harder….

What am I failing to celebrate, what am I failing to present? What offering do I bring each morning? What do I present to the Lord? How do I present it? Jesus was the offering, my sacrifice for ALL of my sins. I am washed clean and purified. Thank You, Jesus. My body is a holy and living temple and what am I doing with that? What do I have to bring?!? These questions I have been rolling over in my head and heart and crying out to the Lord! Help me, show me! The Lord wants ALL of our heart, all of our mind and all of our soul. All is defined as one’s whole interest, energy or property. Wholly, entirely, completely. The whole quantity or amount. I was listening to a sermon from a Mary Kay National Sales Director and she quoted Jeremiah 29:13. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with ALL of your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord and I will bring you back from captivity. Sweet sisters, the Lord has been here along but He is asking for all of my heart. I was approaching each morning quiet time as something I had to do not as something I get to do….Like God should be excited I got up and got to spend some time with Him, not the other way around. I had that a little backwards…pride rearing it’s ugly head 😦

Lord, I want to give ALL of me to You. I want to seek You with ALL of my heart and give You ALL that I have. Show me what I am holding on to that is keeping me from You. Open my eyes and give me the strength to let it go. Help me see each day as an opportunity to spend to time with the God of this universe, my Lord and Savior. Help me see each day as an opportunity that is available only by Your great love, Your amazing grace and Your endless mercy to serve You, to offer and present to You all that I am for just this one day. Help me use my time wisely to further Your kingdom and be Your hands and feet, to spread the good news and serve You humbly right where You have me! Thank You for Your word that is active and alive and that it will not return to You void because You are transforming us into Your likeness. Thank You, we praise You and love You with ALL of our hearts, ALL of our minds and ALL of our souls! In Jesus Name we pray, amen. Have a blessed day, sweet sissies! Today I celebrated the Lord was waiting for me to get up and i got up with a different attitude and a different perspective, thank You, Jesus! What a wonderful God was serve! Love and hugs to all,

Bethany
Sent from my iPhone

3 thoughts on “February 17, 2012 – The Offering

  1. Ouch. Very convicting, Bethany. Yes, sometimes we act like we're doing God a favor by spending time with Him when it's really the other way around. How can I keep the Creator of the universe waiting? 

  2. I am reading this a day late; but boy are you speaking to me sister! My reading this day is Leviticus 16-18…and when was reading about what it took for Aaron to prepare himself before he could meet with the Lord I was very convicted. Now we can approach God directly and immediately because of Jesus’ work on the cross. But…what did that cost Him? Too many times I approach God lightly, with a pathetic attitude, and yes Bethany with a “now I’m gracing you with my presence” kind of attitude instead of the correct attitude that says “Grace me with Your presence Lord, of YOU so desire it…I am but a pathetic, humble creation of yours that deserves nothing, but You’ve chosen to give me everything”…..thank you for your post; it confirmed exactly what I’ve been feeling myself.Morgen

Your thoughts?

