Spring Cleaning

“This procedure will determine whether a person or object is ceremonially clean or unclean…” Leviticus 14:57

If the words mildew, scabby sores, bodily discharges or burnt offerings leave you a bit unnerved then the superficial reading of Leviticus will send you running in the opposite direction.  Honestly, if truth be told I didn’t greet today’s verses with enthusiasm until I “dug deeper”.  When I read Jon Courson’s commentary and he stated, “But every part of God’s Word has an amazing way of being applicable to our daily lives.”, I knew that there were jewels nestled in His Word.

The “jewels” that I found were related to the ritual of cleansing and washing.  Courson describes this as “a cleansing from spiritual disease as we drink of the Scripture.”  He goes on to say that “as the doctors in the dark ages of medicine, we mistakenly think we don’t have to wash ourselves spiritually all that often.  But yet we wonder why we remain in an infected condition.”  Since we are approaching the end of February and what hopes to be glimpses of spring maybe, just maybe we need to think about spring cleaning our spiritual life.  So instead of just dry cleaning the curtains, which will only last a season, let’s pull out our Bible and give a spiritual cleaning that will have eternal influence.

What areas need to be “cleaned”?

  • Our Heart – What is harboring in your heart?  Are you carrying over anger and bitterness from “winter”?  “Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.”  Psalm 51:10 (KJV)
  • Our Mouth – Do the words coming from your mouth ring with negativity?  Is it easier to complain than to find the good in life?  As Beth Moore states in Living Beyond, “When we are aggravated with everybody else, look at the common denominator, it’s us!”  A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart.  For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”  Luke 6:45 (NIV)
  • Our Mind – The “garbage” needs to be taken out.  Remembering the old adage, “garbage in and garbage out”, we must learn to feed our minds and spirits with the Word of God instead of the garbage of this world. “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – His good, pleasing and perfect will.”  Romans 12:2 (NIV)
  • The “Attic” – Sins of unforgiveness, anger, and bitterness will weigh you down.  the problem is that the longer we hold onto this “stuff” the more difficult it is to throw away. “Therefore…let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress…”  Hebrews 12:1 (NLT)

Cleaning can be challenging, it is labor intensive and at times it looks more like a mountain than a molehill but the benefits far outweigh the “muscle” involved.  As Courson states, “…Lord, I’m trusting something is happening miraculously, supernaturally even now that Your Word is doing a cleansing work in me.”

Blessings,

Mary Ann

2 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning

  1. My heart, my mouth, my mind and my attic – are all places in me that need a good cleaning! It’s amazing how quickly they get dirty. Not only do I need Jesus to come in and cleanse these places; I also need Him to change them. God’s ways are so right. Trust, trust trust.Morgen

  2. Great post, MA. This reminded me of the little booklet I read a couple of years back called My Heart, Christ's Home. I found a pdf where you can read the whole thing here. Since cleaning is not one of my spiritual gifts, I'm more than happy to let Him take over and do the redecorating. It has been painful, yes, because He's asking me to toss things that have sentimental value to me like: my bitterness over a hurt, anger over a slight – you know, things we hold on to like aces in our sleeves (I think I just made a gambling analogy). But I know I'll be better for it in the end.

Your thoughts?

