February 24, 2012

Well, sweet sisters….I read today’s reading yesterday and came up flat. I woke this morning and all I wanted to do is praise our Heavenly Father, to worship Him and thank Him for His Word, His Son and His faithful love. 

I had intentions of sharing a bit from Psalms 119 but when I turned to it. Psalms 118 captured my attention and is my heart’s song this beautiful Friday morning. May we ponder this Psalm this morning as we intentionally look for the blessings in ALL things, big or small! Love and hugs to all

Psalm 118

 1 Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; 
   his love endures forever.

 2 Let Israel say: 
   “His love endures forever.” 
3 Let the house of Aaron say: 
   “His love endures forever.” 
4 Let those who fear the LORD say: 
   “His love endures forever.”

 5 When hard pressed, I cried to the LORD; 
   he brought me into a spacious place. 
6 The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. 
   What can mere mortals do to me? 
7 The LORD is with me; he is my helper. 
   I look in triumph on my enemies.

 8 It is better to take refuge in the LORD 
   than to trust in humans. 
9 It is better to take refuge in the LORD 
   than to trust in princes. 
10 All the nations surrounded me, 
   but in the name of the LORD I cut them down. 
11 They surrounded me on every side, 
   but in the name of the LORD I cut them down. 
12 They swarmed around me like bees, 
   but they were consumed as quickly as burning thorns; 
   in the name of the LORD I cut them down. 
13 I was pushed back and about to fall, 
   but the LORD helped me. 
14 The LORD is my strength and my defense[a]
   he has become my salvation.

 15 Shouts of joy and victory 
   resound in the tents of the righteous: 
“The LORD’s right hand has done mighty things! 
 16 The LORD’s right hand is lifted high; 
   the LORD’s right hand has done mighty things!” 
17 I will not die but live, 
   and will proclaim what the LORD has done. 
18 The LORD has chastened me severely, 
   but he has not given me over to death. 
19 Open for me the gates of the righteous; 
   I will enter and give thanks to the LORD. 
20 This is the gate of the LORD 
   through which the righteous may enter. 
21 I will give you thanks, for you answered me; 
   you have become my salvation.

 22 The stone the builders rejected 
   has become the cornerstone; 
23 the LORD has done this, 
   and it is marvelous in our eyes. 
24 The LORD has done it this very day; 
   let us rejoice today and be glad.

 25 LORD, save us! 
   LORD, grant us success!

 26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD. 
   From the house of the LORD we bless you.[b] 
27 The LORD is God, 
   and he has made his light shine on us. 
With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession 
   up[c] to the horns of the altar.

 28 You are my God, and I will praise you; 
   you are my God, and I will exalt you.

 29 Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; 
   his love endures forever. 

Bethany

Sent from my iPhone
6 thoughts on “February 24, 2012

  1. Bethany,You did find something in today's reading. Underneath everything God asked them to do, the underlying message is to give thanks and praise Him. My reading is on Numbers and the phrase "each to his task and his burden" caught my attention (Numbers 4:19, 24,47). Well, specifically the word "burden." Service and burden go hand in hand. When we serve the Lord, we are going to be tested – by Him, by others. I have always associated "burden" with difficulty and hardship. But when I looked at the word in the original language, I was pleasantly surprised: Strong's H4853 – massa' מַשָּׂא <tbody><tr><td> Transliteration massa'</td></tr></tbody> 1)  load, bearing, tribute, burden, lifting a)  load, burden b)  lifting, uplifting, that to which the soul lifts itself up c)  bearing, carrying d)  tribute, that which is carried or brought or borne 2)  utterance, oracle, burdenDid you see that? 1d – a tribute. Then I looked even deeper to Gesenius' Lexicon and was even more blown away. Look below – I can't crop it but see it down there? Towards the bottom? Particularly (5) and (6) – singing and a gift! Our burdens can be used as a tribute to our God, a sacrifice of praise so to speak. Those things that I view as hardships, can be turned into a song and offered as a gift to God.  I don't know about you, but no matter what, I know I'm going to have a good day today as I go about singing, "We bring a sacrifice of praise into the house of the Lord!" Have a blessed, blessed day. Thank you, Father for showing us the light even when our hearts are heavy and burdened. You have a way of turning it around. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you!

  2. Another thing that God showed me when He opened that word up. I've been carrying my burdens the wrong way! You know how they say there's a proper way to lift heavy things without breaking your back? Well you can do all these steps: (Cue deep announcer voice) When lifting, always bend at the knees, not at the waist. Never lift an object by keeping your legs stiff, while bending over it. Avoid twisting your body. Instead, point your toes in the direction you want to move and pivot in that direction.Position yourself close to the object you want to lift. Separate your feet (shoulder-width apart) to give yourself a solid base of support. Bend at the knees. Tighten your stomach muscles. Lift with your leg muscles as you stand up. Push rather than pull when you must move a heavy object such as furniture or a large box. Blah, blah, blah.OR….. Another option is to use furniture sliders. Those little disks that you put under each corner of a heavy furniture? Look at those women moving those heavy furniture around. In carpeting no less!  The furniture has not changed its weight but now you can move it around without having to strain. That's what being in Christ is.  He is our super slider. We still have our troubles but they do not have to be so heavy. He can bear the weight of it all.

  3. First of all…I noticed in the Psalm you shared Bethany that JESUS is all over it! I read it with awe!Secondly T – I love the concept of Jesus as our “super slider” bearing all the weight for us….great analogy!Morgen

  4. Hmm, I noticed my Gesenius picture disappeared. It's here  (towards the middle of the page) in case you want to see it for yourself. It made me smile and lifted the fog so I wanted to share it.

Your thoughts?

