February 27, 2012 – Don’t be a Hobab

And Moses said to Hobab the son of Reuel the Midianite, Moses’ father-in-law, “We are setting out for the place of which the LORD said, ‘I will give it to you.’ Come with us, and we will do good to you, for the LORD has promised good to Israel.” But he said to him, “I will not go. I will depart to my own land and to my kindred.”
(Numbers 10:29-30 ESV)

Come with us…

 

Moses is offering Hobab, his brother-in-law, a place in the promised land. To quote “for the Lord has promised good to Israel.” Isn’t that nice of him? Moses wanted to share the promises of the Lord to others. I need to be more like Moses by being more intentional in extending an invitation to other people. To share the gospel of salvation, so they may have life eternal. Jesus left us here while He went to prepare a place for us (John 14:2). Wouldn’t it be a blessing to Him if we can bring as many people as possible to fill those rooms in His Father’s house? 

 

But some people can be like Hobab. Did you see what he did? Hobab said no! He preferred to go back to his own land and to his kindred. I don’t get this. Surely Hobab saw everything God did for the Israelites through Moses. I don’t exactly know when he joined Moses so he may have missed out on the parting of the Red Sea and the drowning of Pharaoh’s army. But surely, surely he must have seen the cloud by day and the glowing fire by nightHe must have witnessed God’s spirit in all its splendor envelop the tabernacle. Still, essentially he said, “No, I reject that because I prefer the backwoods of Midian.” Why?!? 

 

Come to Me…

 

God is offering a precious precious gift. In exchange for our filthy rags, He offers white garments and gold crowns (Rev 4:4). Righteousness. Cleansing. No more tears (I like this the best). Being in His presence forever.

 

Yet people reject it – even after they have seen a glimpse of God’s glory. Sometimes, no matter how much we want it or how hard we try, people will still say no. For what? To stay in their sin, to go back to what they know – the old friends and the old places with no accountability? Yes, it is their choice to make. God would not force Himself on anyone. What a loss, though…

 

Today I pray for the people who are temporarily blinded by the things of this world. May God open their eyes to the truth so they can be set free. May they come to God when He calls.

 

[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan

2 thoughts on “February 27, 2012 – Don’t be a Hobab

  1. Very nice post. I noticed this same verse today T. I had forgotten that Moses’ wife’s brother was still along for this journey. Why do I turn away after I know that I’ve been in the midst of God’s glory? Why do I stop trusting and being faithful…but start trusting more in myself? Why do I take back my surrender? Morgen

Your thoughts?

