March 2, 2012 – Complaining

Numbers 11:1 – Soon the people began to complain about their hardships, and the Lord heard everything they said. Complain is defined by dictionary.com as an expression of dissatisfaction, pain, uneasiness, censure, resentment, or grief, find fault, to tell of ones pains, ailments, make a formal accusation. A few days before reading this verse, I read in Joyce Meyer’s Book, I dare you, Embrace life with passion that grumbling, fault finding, and combining open a door for the devil to bring destruction into our lives. She says, if you cannot change something, then change the way you think about it but don’t complain about it. She continues to reinforce the fact it is a complete waste of time and says loud and clear to God we are not at all satisfied with the way He is taking care of us. If we begin to thank God from where we are, He will help us get to where we want to be! Those words have been ringing in my ears and in my heart. I believe Wednesday someone posted on the same verse and did a fabulous job of unsettling my spirit and making me aware of the words I say. Everywhere I turn, God is placing scripture that is referenced to the words that we speak. James 3:6 states that the tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life, and is itself set on fire by hell. James continues in verse 8, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. These verses have stung the depth of my soul and I am surrendering my tongue to the Lord. I have been reminded of a verse in Isaiah 6:5, woe to me, I cried. I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty. Then one of the seraphs flew to me and with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for. Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us? And I said, Here I am. Send me. Jon Courson explains that the Holy Spirit is like electricity. He’ll only go into an object if there is a way out of that object. People wonder why the Holy Ghost isn’t moving in their lives, but it’s because there’s no outflow. Plug into ministry, sharing, missions and you will feel the current of the Holy Ghost flowing through you.

Praise the Lord, may we be outlets for the Word that we put into our hearts each day. May we allow the Lord to send a coal from off the altar and Help us humble ourselves before You, Father, that we are open to the work You want to do in our hearts. Send us, Lord, to proclaim Your good works and Your saving grace to those you put into our lives. We love You, Father, and thank You. Let Your praises ring! In Jesus Name we pray, Amen. Bethany
Sent from my iPhone

One thought on “March 2, 2012 – Complaining

  1. What is this?!? Two messages on complaining in one week? Is the Lord trying to tell me something?  Bethany, I believe we can keep posting everyday, find different angles and never exhaust the subject. We are sinners saved by grace. Thank God for grace. My reading today involved Korah who essentially, yes, complained about Moses. What happened to him? He not only suffered the consequence of God's wrath but also his wife and his children. I often wonder why God included the children, too. Maybe He knew that a heart that is always dissatisfied will pass that on to the next generation. What also touched my heart was how Moses and Aaron interceded on behalf of those who spoke ill of them. May I be that gracious as well.Have a blessed Friday, dear friends!

Your thoughts?

