March 8, 2012 – You go, Girls (Redux)

Since I don’t see a post up yet, I thought I’d do a follow up from yesterday’s post. With apologies to Morgen if you’re furiously typing up a post this very moment. We’ll just have two posts today instead of one. 🙂

 

It came to my attention that the explanation of how God circumvented the curse of Jeconiah thru the genealogies may have been…confusing and may have fried a brain or two. I thought it would be easier to see if there’s an accompanying chart. Fortunately for me I found another one done by Chuck Missler whom I quoted yesterday.

 

The first column details the genealogy from Luke who started from Adam, column 2 is when Matthew started with Abraham see how they both end with David? Columns 3 and 4 show Nathan (Luke) and Solomon (Matthew) who are both sons of David. Solomon’s line (the kings) sired Jehoiachim or Jeconiah upon whom the blood curse was pronounced. Therefore, Messiah could not have come from that line since it is now tainted. God solves that problem with Nathan’s line (Solomon’s younger brother) that ends with Heli (Mary’s father).  To quote Dr. Missler from yesterday,  “Heli, Mary’s father, apparently had no sons, and Mary married within the tribe of Judah. Jesus was born of the virgin Mary, of the house and lineage of David and carrying legal title to the line, but without the blood curse of Jeconiah.”

 

Maybe I could have saved all that explanation by just posting the picture I found here 

Genealogy_pic

 

 

Which might be too small….Press “Control” then “+” to zoom. Not working? Here is a Word document from a different source:

 

 

Matthew

Luke

David

David

Solomon

Nathan

Rehoboam

Mattatha

Abijah

Menna

Asa

Melea

Jehoshaphat

Eliakim

Joram

Jonam

Uzziah

Joseph

Jotham

Judah

Ahaz

Simeon

Hezekiah

Levi

Manasseh

Matthat

Amon

Jorim

Josiah

Eliezer

Jeconiah* blood curse! 

Joshua

Shealtiel

Er

Zerubbabel

Elmadam

Abiud

Cosam

Eliakim

Addi

Azor

Melki

Zadok

Neri

Akim

Shealtiel

Eliud

Zerubbabel

Eleazar

Rhesa

Matthan

Joanan

Jacob

Joda

Joseph

Josech


Semein

 

Mattathias

 

Maath

 

Naggai

 

Esli

 

Nahum

 

Amos

 

Mattathias

 

Joseph

 

Jannai

 

Melki

 

Levi

 

Matthat

 

Heli

 

(Mary)

 

 

You can also find a more detailed explanation and another illustration here (color-coded, too).

 

I hope that cleared it up. 🙂

 

[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “March 8, 2012 – You go, Girls (Redux)

  1. I once again struggled to be able to post this week…I had to sign in with my name and email and did do a post…but not sure where it is…..sorry ladies!

  2. Thanks, sis, for going out of your way to help this brain fried being understand the genealogy of Christ. That’s the very reason I always skip…I mean, skim, through the genealogy parts of the Bible. I need a picture, a chart, something visual to help me understand an intricate topic. Those charts sure helped give me a semblance of comprehension on a topic that I’ve always avoided. Did I just get up the nerve to comment on one of my favorite blog sites? I’ll take this chance to thank you, ladies, for the great job you’re doing in helping us less gifted ones understand the Word of God in depth. I salute you all. Please don’t stop doing what you’re doing for God. You don’t know how many lives you’re touching through HGP. God bless you all.(Back to lurking)

  3. J,Hey girl!  You know I had planned on protecting my source for the "fried brain" comment and here you are owning up to it.  I'm glad you posted a comment, though – at long last! 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement, sister. Come back soon, 'k?

Your thoughts?

