March 12, 2012 – Turn, Turn, Turn

Yesterday we started the book of Deuteronomy, our 6th book (Genesis, Job, Exodus, Leviticus and Numbers)!  Can you believe that? Just 60 more to go and what treasures await us.

 

Onto the reading ~

 

It is eleven days’ journey from Horeb by the way of Mount Seir to Kadesh-barnea.
(Deuteronomy 1:2 ESV)

 

Whenever I see this passage, I think of Joyce Meyer. When I first became a Christian and before I found my present church, I lived on preaching from Christian television. Hers was one of the very first shows I tuned into along with Dr. Charles Stanley and Dr. David Jeremiah. But Joyce’s show Enjoying Everyday Life became an early favorite of mine. It was aptly named because I enjoyed watching her. Her teaching style could be perceived as in-your-face (yet infused with a lot of humor) and may be offensive to those who are not used to seeing women preachers but having grown up under the tutelage of priests, that was one of the reasons I liked her. She taught me a lot on how to live the Christian life. Anyway, like I said, I was baby Christian and not familiar with the bible at all. My first thought upon hearing about the above verse was, What?!? Oh surely that can’t be right. When I found Deuteronomy 1:2 though, sure enough there it was. I was flabbergasted. Their journey could have only taken them 11 days?! But due to their disobedience, it turned to 40 years. Years! 

 

They wasted that much time.

 

That day of my discovery was 8 years ago, but sometimes I still find myself not grasping the lesson: Disobedience can keep me from everything God has planned for me.

 

Which got me thinking, how much time are you and I wasting now?

 

Are there challenges in your life that comes up repeatedly? The same disagreement with someone over something? Or an area of bondage whether physical, mental or emotional? That no matter how hard you try, you just can’t get any victory over that area? Or has the Lord given you a vision but you have not seen it come to fruition? Maybe we should ask ourselves if we any area of disobedience? 


None? Keep asking and pray Psalm 139:23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts, because we tend to deceive ourselves on this one

 

The Lord told the Israelites in (Deuteronomy 1:6-8 ESV) and I picture Him also telling us now: ‘You have stayed long enough at this mountain. Turn and take your journey, and go….See, I have set [it] before you. Go in and take possession of [what]the LORD [promised you].’  

 

Turn and take your journey” – repent, turn away from your sin and move on. The hurt that was done to you? The betrayal? Repent of your anger, give the situation to God and move forward. Otherwise, you might find yourself going around the same mountain over and over again. What a waste of life.

 

Before I go, let me share another tidbit from Joyce Meyer. It’s called The 10 Wilderness Mentalities that can hinder your journey to your Promised Land (from her book Battlefield of the Mind). Fortunately for us these are pretty self-explanatory even if you haven’t read the book, or like me started it but have not yet finished (yeah, the story of my life), you’ll still get the gist. 

 

  1. My future is determined by my past and my present. 
  2. I don’t want the responsibility. 
  3. I can’t take it if things are too hard! 
  4. I can’t help it – I want it now! 
  5. Don’t make me wait – I want it now! 
  6. It’s not my fault! 
  7. My life is so miserable. 
  8. I don’t deserve God’s blessings.
  9. Why shouldn’t I be jealous? 
  10. I’m doing it my way. 

 

If you want to read more about these10, I found this website that has excerpts from the book.

 

Don’t waste your life. Turn.

 

[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan

4 thoughts on “March 12, 2012 – Turn, Turn, Turn

  1. This post is a great reminder this morning. May we all turn today in the direction of the Lord. May we surrender everything we have and rely in His strength alone! Have a blessed day, sweet sisters! Love and hugs BethanySent from my iPhoneOn Mar 11, 2012, at 11:58 PM, His Gathering Place <post@hisgatheringplace.posterous.com> wrote: This is a private email. Please do not forward. <tbody><tr> <td height=”20″></td> </tr> <tr> <td width=”20″></td> <td> <tbody><tr> <td height=”60″ width=”610″> </td> </tr> <tr> <td> <tbody><tr height=”20″></tr> <tr> <td width=”16″></td> <td width=”578″> <tbody><tr> <td> </td></tr></td></tr></td></tr></td></tr>

  2. I have the same reading as you do T; and I also took note of the “11 days vs 40 years”. Ugh. Yet way too familiar. Why is surrendering so difficult? Let this lesson soak in to my marrow Lord.I also noticed in today’s reading how the Lord told Moses to climb up and a take a good look at the Promised Land…the land that you won’t posses due to your disobedience. God is just and fair with everyone; even the big guns like Moses. What promised land is just in sight for me, but I’m not attaining it yet? A point to ponder.Morgen

Your thoughts?

