March 16, 2012 – Test

Deuteronomy 13:3b – 4 – The Lord your God is testing you to see if you truly love him with all of your heart and soul. Serve only the Lord your God and fear him alone. Obey His commands, listen to His voice and cling to Him. The Lord tests our love for Him. He wants to know if it’s true….I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around that one but maybe it’s because I skirt around the test and play it safe. Don’t risk too much and I won’t get hurt or disappointed. Quite frankly, I NEVER like to fail at anything let alone a test….hmmmm….Can anyone relate? So, where do we fall on the love test? How true is my love for THE ONE TRUE GOD? Verse 4 begs us to question where we fall on following the commands to 1.) Serve the Lord alone 2.) Fear Him alone 3.) Obey His commands
4.) Listen to His Voice
5.) Cling to Him

Search our hearts, O Lord! Open our eyes to our wicked ways and show us the sin that hinders us from knowing You and loving You in a deeper more intimate way. We thank You for Your grace and mercy, for Your unfailing love…even when we fail You, You never leave us nor forsake us. Transform us, Lord, so Your name will be known, Your kingdom will come and Your will be done in each of our lives. We love You the best way we know how and we thank You for Your son, Jesus! The perfect example of love. Help us believe and act on our belief that Jesus is in us just as Our Heavenly Father is in Him. May we all be one, Father. The Father in the Son and the Son in us. Help us see Your glory. Help us know the love You have for us through Your Son! Help us love You, serve You, fear You, obey You, listen to You and cling to you! Thank You for Your word! In His name we pray, Amen!
Bethany
Sent from my iPhone

2 thoughts on “March 16, 2012 – Test

  1. Hey Bethany,Thank you for choosing these verses. I underlined them in my reading yesterday. By the way, I detest tests, too. Having flashbacks of Chem 16 during freshman year now. Shudder.  Unlike college though, when God tests us it is open Book (in fact He encourages us to do that everyday) and He does not leave us alone to flounder (unlike my aforementioned terror of a Chem Professor). And the lessons we learn from God stick with us for the rest of our days.  Have a great weekend, sissies!

  2. You touched on such truth Bethany. My coworker and I, just yesterday, were discussing this. Jesus is the perfect Man. He always forgives me; He is always there to talk and listen; He loves me forever and always; He doesn’t have wrong motives regarding me; He is the perfect Spouse! I need to get from Him all those things that I feel I cannot get from my husband. I need to look to His example of forgiveness and unconditional love with my spouse. Jesus is perfect.Morgen

Your thoughts?

