Dressed for the Next Battle

Dressed for the Next Battle!- April 14, 2012–Mema Jeanne

  1 Samuel 17:38-40
NLT: “I can’t go in these,” he protested to Saul. “I’m not used to them.” So David took them off again….Then, armed only with his shepherd’s staff and sling….”
KJV: “ I cannot go with these; for I have not proved them. And David put them off him. And he took his staff in his hand….”
NIV: “I cannot go in these,” he said to Saul, “because I am not use to them. So he took them off. Then, he took his staff in his hand,…”

  When I was in the 9th grade, I had a friend named Joyce. We would wear each other’s clothes as we were both the same size, and we tried to act just like each other. I really would have liked to have worn Phyllis’s clothes, but she wasn’t the same size, nor did she act like Joyce and I. She wasn’t embarrassed to call herself a Christian, but I sure was. Once while in high school, our group (chaperoned by the football coach and his wife) went to Myrtle Beach. On that Sunday morning, Phyllis went to church while the rest of us slept in. I knew that I should have gone with her, but it wasn’t cool!!! As I look back, I definitely see that her relationship with the Lord was not the same as my relationship with Him was. She was more like David in her faith, and I was more like Saul!! ( I see that in this lesson–thank You, Lord!!) 😉

  I think that Saul really wanted to be able to say that David could fit into his armor so that he would get the glory for David having worn his expensive armor. Why didn’t Saul just put on his own armor and go out and fight the giant? We already know that Saul didn’t place his faith in God as David had done during his young life. David knew that “ the LORD who rescued me from the claws of the lion and the bear will rescue me from this Philistine” (1 Sam. 14:37). When David was anointed with oil, “the Spirit of the LORD came powerfully upon David from that day on.”(1 Sam. 16:13b). David had faith and trusted in his LORD.

  Just as Phyllis’s clothes and her relationship with God did not fit me so Saul’s armor did not physically or spiritually fit David. “He had much better armor than Saul’s. Saul had a bronze helmet, but David had the helmet of salvation ( Eph. 6:17). Saul had a coat of mail, but David had a breastplate of righteousness ( Eph. 6:14). Saul had a sword, but David had the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God ( Eph. 617). David had the whole armor of God! ( Eph. 6:11).”
Oh!! I cannot praise God enough that He has given me the opportunity to be clothed with His armor. Hallelujah and thank You, God, for Your faithfulness to me during all of those years!!!!!

  How many times have we found ourselves wishing that we could be like someone else in her manner of worship, or prayer life, or writing ability, or leadership role in the church? Wow!! I just have realized that I don’t have to be like anyone else, and I surely do not need to be a part of what the world offers for protection. I don’t want to fight my battles with someone else’s armor. I want to be like David (and Phyllis) and say that “I will trust in the Lord and wear His armor instead.” God wants me to trust in Him and Him alone. So, I believe that I’ll just pick up my Staff and wear what I’m used to, His armor, as I head out the door…
Dressed for the next battle,
Mema Jeanne

One thought on “Dressed for the Next Battle

  1. Mema Jeanne,I am really enjoying this week's posts. God is opening my eyes to new revelations. Yes, God doesn't wasn't us dressed in any armor besides the one He has provided for us. I love how youtied this with the verses in Ephesians. Thank you for the wise words, Mema! >>

Your thoughts?

