Forgiveness April 20, 2012

The verse that jumped off the page to me today was 2 Samuel 2:26 – Must we always be killing each other? Don’t you realize that bitten is the only result? When will you call off your men from chasing their Israelite brothers? Then Joab said, God only knows what would have happened if you hadn’t spoken, for we would have chased you all night if necessary.

How many times in our lives do we go after others who have hurt us? We may not literally chase them but what about our thoughts and our motives? Do we treat others in the same manner they treat us or how we want to be treated? Even better yet, how God calls and equips us to treat 
them through the power of the Holy Spirit.

As Dennis Fuqua explains in Chapter 9 of Living Prayer, The Lord’s Prayer Alive in You, the essence of forgiveness is releasing someone who’s guilty from a real debt. That’s what God has done for us and what He calls us to do for others. But there is a surprise to this releasing. When I release another person, I find that I’ve been released as well. My lack of forgiveness is a greater bondage to me than anything another person can put me under. An old proverb says, “If you’re suffering from a bad man’s injustice, forgive – lest there be two bad men.”

Dennis suggests that forgiveness is choosing not to retaliate. Some say, “I don’t get mad; I get even,” but both parts of that are flawed. As Christians, we are to get mad (Ephesians 4:26) but we’re not to get even. We’re always to forgive. Forgiveness removes the reason for me to try to get even with the other person. 

Dear Heavenly Father, we thank You for Your Son, Jesus, who died on the cross for the forgiveness of our sins. Help us forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors. Prick our spirits when our actions are motivated by unforgiveness, may we be stopped in our tracks, lay down our unforgiveness and choose to pick up love. Thank You for the endless love You pour into our hearts through Your Holy Spirit. We love You, Father, and in Jesus Name, we pray, Amen! 

Belief and Blessings, 
Bethany 

4 thoughts on “Forgiveness April 20, 2012

  1. Amen, Bethany. In this forgiveness equation I always have to remember that since God has forgiven my sins through Jesus Christ, I need to forgive others, too, through Jesus Christ. It's only through Him that it can truly happen. My readings were on the Psalms and the message is how God hears over and over again when we cry out to Him. Have a blessed weekend~

  2. B, so good! I love what you said about it is ok to get mad but not get even. I think what I have learned lately is that our tendency when we have been hurt is to perpetuate the problem too by talking about it to anyone who will listen. That is a huge lesson God has taught me over these last few months. Learning to restrain. We are going to get mad at things, but what do we do with our anger. We forgive and give it to God. A dear friend of mine said something to me a few weeks ago that was hit home. She said we are called to forgive, we must forgive for our own hearts and let God handle it, but forgiving doesn’t always meaning staying. Forgiving doesn’t mean that you keep putting yourself in the situation. I can forgive the past and those that hurt me, but that does not mean always reconciliation. I didn’t realize this post was up yet when I responded to Morgen’s from yesterday. here is my FB post from today’s reading:Day 120~ Can you imagine fighting this hard? “Eleazar stood his ground and attacked the Philistines until his hand was tired and stuck to his sword” (2 Samuel 23:10). That is some serious fighting! The question I have to ask myself is “Do I fight that hard against my enemy? Do I fight so hard using The Sword (the Bible, Eph 6:17) that I am stuck to it?” Fighting is HARD work. Right now I am fighting a battle in my own life. Am I going to use the Word and fight as hard as I can against the enemy who wants to kill, steal and destroy (John 10:10) or am I going to give up? I pray that I will fight. I pray that through this that Sword, God’s Word, will become stuck to me in new ways, in ways it hasn’t before and the verses I am using now to pray will become ones stuck to my heart from here on out. Ones I won’t forget that I can go to again when battles come my way. Standing my ground and fighting- it is so not easy, but it in the end the Lord will bring great victory and there will be plunder to collect (2 Samuel 23:10).

  3. Amen, again!These posts reminded me that our anger should be focused on the real cause of our interpersonal problems: satan. He is the source of all division. We can't fight him one on one but like Brandee said, wield our Sword of the Spirit and the entire armor of God. In the end, that is what is going to defeat him. By the way Brandee, I thank you again for posting your FB posts here for those of us – the select few still left on earth – not on FB. 🙂

  4. My thoughts and motives toward someone who has hurt me or people I love do not bring glory to God. I would like to think that by my not speaking my mind to them (verbally getting revenge), I am pleasing God, but I really don’t think so. I know that it’s okay to get angry, but not to sin in that anger. I know that what I think and want to say to that person is as bad as saying it. Mema Jeanne

Your thoughts?

