Not Much Difference in a King and a Mema!

Not much difference in a king and a mema–April 21, 2012

  Well, I have to say that I had no idea what to write about with this section of reading. I asked myself several times, “What does God want me to get from this reading for today?” I couldn’t get anything on my own; it seems that nothing reached out and touched a part of me that I could express my feelings, so I used the knowledge of John Karmelich. He does a Bible study online, and I found him as I was looking for help with understanding Exodus 12 for Sunday school. So, I have taken in a lot of information as I read 2 Sam. 2-5.
John states that these chapters have material that could be used for a soap opera; I agree!! So, what does God want me/us to learn from reading of “war, double-crossing, corruption, and just plain old sin? These chapters 2-5 are essentially subplots in the story of the rise of King David. Since the Bible records all of these details, God must want us to know them and apply them. What is their purpose?” What should I learn from these chapters about David that will help me in my relationship with God?
According to JK;
a. We’ve read of lots of sin and things that are displeasing to God
b. We don’t read of anyone seeking God since the first verse of Ch. 2
c. We are reading of a civil war. This is a horrible thing to live through. If that wasn’t bad enough, we read of power struggles, murder, sexual sin, and deceit.
d. What is to be learned by all of this?
1. God’s will gets done on God’s timing. God intended for David to be king and it happened, despite sin, rebellion, and civil war.
2. When one lives in fear of losing his/her life, that means that that person is usually turning away from God also. “Fear’ is the opposite of “faith.” When we focus on our worries and are trying to solve problems ourselves as opposed to seeking God’s will, the results are usually a disaster.
3. There is the lesson of the power of forgiveness. David forgave Abner for rebellion and all the years of Abner leading an army to try to kill him. Imagine living the life of a fugitive for years, and the guy who tried to find you and kill you now wants to submit to you. Instead of gloating or seeking revenge, you welcome him with open arms. This is what David did here.
* God asks us to forgive others just as God forgives all of our sins. It is the only line of “The Lord’s Prayer” that involves action on our part. We pray for God’s strength to perform that action (our forgiveness).
* David forgives the man who spent years trying to kill him!! That is a great example of forgiving someone who asks for it!
According to Mema Jeanne, with a lot of help from John J , I have realized that there was a lot that God wanted me to see about myself: there are many things that I do that are displeasing to God; I need to seek His guidance before I make decisions on my own; and there are going to be struggles in my life. Yet, God’s will will get done in my life on His time regardless of what I may have to face. I don’t want to try to solve problems without first consulting God’s will, and oh my!!!! If David could forgive Saul and Abner at this point in his rise to being king of Israel, then surely I can forgive the woman with the foul mouth and untruths that she speaks. God is stepping on my toes here as I see that I haven’t truly prayed for God’s strength to allow me to forgive!!!
So, all in all, I suppose that God did have a purpose for my reading and having to post on these chapters!
His timing is perfect,
Mema Jeanne

One thought on “Not Much Difference in a King and a Mema!

  1. This spoke to me ~ “Fear’ is the opposite of “faith.” When we focus on our worries and are trying to solve problems ourselves as opposed to seeking God’s will, the results are usually a disaster. Just so you know, we're on the same boat. God is showing me things that are not pretty, too. When is this going to be over? 🙂  So, scoot over, Mema, we both have a lot to learn.  >

Your thoughts?

