And I Thought Mulberry Trees Were Just For Climbing

And I Thought That Mulberry Trees Were Just For Climbing
2 Samuel 5:24- Mema Jeanne-Sunday, 4/22/12

  Grandma Ellis had a huge mulberry tree which was located across the street from her house in the school yard (where my daddy and I attended school; then I taught in that same school for 9 years). We use to climb that tree and jump into the piles of mulberries lying on the ground. I even took a class of my 6th graders out to lie down under that same tree and just listen for various sounds as the wind blew through the tree branches. We could do that type of teaching 20 years ago. 😉 Verse 24 truly came alive to me today. I had it underlined but didn’t pay attention to it, and then I read it in 1Chr. 14:15. I just love the sound of the way the sentence flows…When you hear a sound like marching feet in the tops of the poplar (MULBERRY, KJV) trees, go out and attack!

  I just had to look up more info. About this verse, and although I found things that I loved learning, I just want to share what Charles Spurgeon said :

Well, C H Spurgeon said this about it:

‘There are times “when thou hearest the sound of a going in the tops of the mulberry trees.” You have a peculiar power in prayer; the Spirit of God gives you joy and gladness; the Scripture is open to you; the promises are applied; you walk in the light of God’s countenance; you have peculiar freedom and liberty in devotion, and more closeness of communion with Christ than was your wont. Now, at such joyous periods when you hear the “sound of a going in the tops of the mulberry trees,” is the time to bestir yourself; now is the time to get rid of any evil habit, while God the Spirit helps your infirmities. Seek help of God, that you may be more earnest in duty when made more strong in faith; that you may be more constant in prayer when you have more liberty at the throne; that you may be more holy in your conversation whilst you live more closely with Christ.’

 

Does his comment give a feeling of God’s Presence just flowing over you??? It did that for me. I could write and write, but I feel that I just go on too much sometimes—too much for anyone to want to read. So, I’ll close and prayerfully leave you in the Presence of God’s Spirit!!

Listening,

Mema Jeanne

One thought on “And I Thought Mulberry Trees Were Just For Climbing

  1. Mema Jeanne,What a pleasant surprise to find you post on a Sunday. The Holy Spirit is doing some stirring in your neck of the woods. I love the picture you painted from your childhood. I wasn't much of a tree climber myself since I grew up in the city. My cousins, though, oh boy – I remember one hanging upside down from a branch. I think she mentioned falling and hitting her head at one time. Though, looking at her now, one cannot tell. 🙂 That quote from Spurgeon, yes, that spoke to me, too. I know we are not to go by our feelings but there is just something special when you feel God's presence around you. Thank you for posting!

Your thoughts?

