April 26th….Psalm 73/77/78

I so enjoy reading the Psalms…they always seem to speak to my heart.  Today I am just going to post some words from each of today’s Psalms that spoke directly to me:

73

“Yet I still belong to you; You hold my right hand.  You guide me with Your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny.  whom have I in heaven but You?  I desire You more than anything on earth.  My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; He is mine forever.

 

77

O God, Your ways are holy, Is there any god as mighty as You? You are the God of great wonders! You demonstrate Your awesome power among the nations.  By Your strong arm, You redeemed Your people, the descendants of Jacob and Joseph.

 

78

Yet He was merciful and forgave their sins and did not destroy them all.  Many times He held back His anger and did not unleash His fury!  For He remembered that they were merely mortal, gone like a breath of wind that never returns.

But He led His own people like a flock of sheep, guiding them safely through the wilderness. He kept them safe so they were not afraid. 

 

What a glorious and worthy High King of the Universe we serve!

 

Morgen

 

 

2 thoughts on “April 26th….Psalm 73/77/78

  1. I love the Psalms too!!!! Today in the chrono reading it was Psalm 51 in the story of David and Bathsheba. Here is my FB post:Day 116~ Today’s story of David and Bathsheba is one that always reminds me that no matter what we do, how bad we mess up, God can forgive and redeem. David blew it and blew it big time, but he went to the Lord in true humble repentance and God forgave and restored. It was not without consequences, sin always costs us something, but God did restore and in the end Solomon was born, whose very name means “Beloved of the Lord.” In Psalm 51 there is one line that stood out to me. It says, “give me a willing spirit” (vs 12). That is my prayer today. I want to have a willing spirit to listen to God’s voice, go where He says go and do what He says do. I saw a quote from Pastor D today on facebook that said, “We turn to the Father for help when our foundations are shaking, only to learn it is the Father who’s shaking them.” As I drove home taking Will to school and listening to Travis Cottrell this quote was on my mind. I pulled in the driveway and the tears just poured. Foundations shaking, yes, that is where I am right now. It is scary. God reminded me as I got down on my knees to pray through tears about two other men who went through a time when their foundations were shaking as well: Paul and Silas (Acts 16:16-40). The Bible says that through the earthquake they experienced in prison their chains came loose (vs 26). That is exactly what God is doing in my life right now. Through the earthquake chains are coming loose. Some I knew I had and some I didn’t. Things like pride, struggles with acceptance and insecurity, jealousy and envy, and unbelief. I can fight the earthquake and let it crush me or I can trust God with all my heart and not trust my own understanding, acknowledge Him in everything trust Him to guide my way (Prov 3:5-6). I can worry or I can pray and not be anxious, giving God thanks as I pray and letting His peace guide me knowing He is in control (Phili 4:5-6). I don’t know what is going on in any of your lives today, but know that we can have a willing spirit to let God do what He needs to do to get us to where we need to be in our walk with Him. The earthquakes can be hard but I want to be like Paul and Silas and praise through it, trusting that God is directing all my paths into His perfect plan. Have a blessed day everyone!

  2. Morgen, yes, there are some days when it's best to let God's word speak for itself. I'm enjoying the Psalms, too.Brandee, continuing to pray for steady feet for you as the foundations rumble beneath. Jesus holds you close, sister and He is loosening some chains. HUGS!

Your thoughts?

