God is our Rock…

“The Lord is my rock…”

Wow, is about all I can say as I read today’s reading.  The word rock in the HCSB states that “it is an immovable, jutting cliff, not a mere stone.  The word occurs in the Bible to describe God’s support and defense of His people.”  Throughout our lives there are individuals who have been there for support, who are strong when we are weak, who provide us with a sense of security and harbor us in a safe zone.  Sometimes our rocks are not people, they may be places that we run to when we are feeling lost and alone…we all have them.  The problem with our worldly rocks are that they can disappoint us, they can become preoccupied with their own issues or simply they cannot be the same as we remember.  The metaphor of God as our rock is powerful, first because the image is universal and second because the image denotes the strength in light of our weaknesses.

We desperately need our rock and when our rock is God and not “worldly” He is always there.  Robbie Parsons which describes beautifully the metaphor of God as our rock, he characterizes it in these ways:

  • He is immutable – He never changes.  (James 1:17, Hebrews 13:8, Malachi 3:6)
  • He is infinite – He has no limits.  (Psalms 147:5, Psalms 90:2)
  • He is holy.  (1 John 1:5)
  • He is my wall of defense.  (Job 22:25, Psalms 7:10)
  • He fights my battles for me.  (1 Samuel 17:47, Exodus 14:13-14)
  • He delivers me.  (Romans 6:6-7)

So how do we learn to depend on God and allow Him alone to be our rock?  David Mauldin writes four steps to make this happen:

  1. Every morning, sing a hymn and read a Psalm.  As you do this you are reminding yourself of God’s strength and offering yourself to Him anew.
  2. Do not neglect worship.  Rain or shine, worship God alongside other believers on Sunday morning.  Oh, how many times I have lost sight of my Rock when I have missed worshipping with believers.
  3. Offer heartfelt prayer.  Don’t ever be afraid to express in prayer what you truly think and feel.  God is not offended by anything, after all He already knows the secrets of our hearts.
  4. Most importantly, you need that strong personal relationship with Jesus that only happens when we stay in His Word daily.

God is our refuge, a strong fortress that is the net that catches us when we are falling.  The key is to allow Him to be there to catch us.

Blessings,

Mary Ann

2 thoughts on “God is our Rock…

  1. There's that verse in Malachi again.  This really spoke to my heart today, Mary Ann and this song immediately came to mind.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cf9-Xk5axFg&feature=related  Your love is amazingSteady and unchanging Your love is a mountainFirm beneath my feet Your love is a mystery How You gently lift meWhen I am surrounded Your love carries me [chorus]Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah Your love makes me singHallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah Your love makes me sing Your love is surprisingI can feel it rising All the joy that's growingDeep inside of me And every time I see youAll Your goodness shines through And I can feel this God songRising up in me [chorus] Your love makes me sing Your love makes me sing, sing, singYour love makes me sing Read more: http://artists.letssingit.com/phillips-craig-and-dean-lyrics-hallelujah-your-love-is-amazing-mw9d2k1#ixzz1td4HGx2P  LetsSingIt – Your favorite Music Community  

  2. What a firm foundation rock is. Solid; sturdy; definite. Jesus is our Rock and am I ever grateful for that!Morgen

Your thoughts?

