May 7, 2012 – Who Am I?

Then King David went in and sat before the Lord and said, “Who am I, O Lord God, and what is my house, that you have brought me thus far? 1 Chron 17:16


I love this passage. It not only shows the graciousness of God but it also gives us a glimpse of  David’s heart.


David is finally king – after years of running from Saul, he is finally enthroned in the palace. Which got him thinking about the ark in the tabernacle. Why is he in the palace while God is in a tent?


David offered to build a house of cedar for God. Nathan the prophet thought that was a splendid idea, too and gave David the go ahead. However, God put a stop to it. Imagine that, God said no! I’m sure it surprised David because what he wanted to do was a good thing. How can God say no? David Guzik quoting Spurgeon said: It shows that David humbly accepted God’s “no” when he wanted to build the temple. “There are some professors who would do a great thing if they might, but if they are not permitted to act a shining part they are in the sulks and angry with their God. David when his proposal was set aside found it in his heart not to murmur, but to pray.”


Seeing his heart, God turned it around and revealed an even better plan. “David, how about I build your “house?” Not one made of  wood or concrete but something that lasts forever.” Guzik further said, “God did not want the earthly house built until the spiritual house was promised and established. The more important house had to be in place first, and that house was the dynasty that would result in the throne of God’s Messiah.” 

 

Isn’t that always the case? When God says “no” He has something much, much better!

 

When David heard that, oh, can you blame him for asking that question? Who am I Lord and what is my house that you have brought me thus far?

 

When we come to the point of asking Who am I?, we find the answer in who God is.

 

FatherStylePoster10.jpg

 (picture courtesy of http://www.servant.org/)

 

It is because of God’s characteristics that we are where we are, Think back to how far God has brought you – from last year, last month, even last week. Doesn’t it make you want to fall down like David and worship Him? 

 

Heavenly Father, we are overwhelmed with your goodness and your everlasting grace. You are merciful and always faithful. Sometimes Father we don’t know what we have done to deserve such grace. Who are we, indeed, that You would send Your Son to die for our sins? We humbly accept  Your Gift and thank You! Without You we are nothing. May our lives glorify You from now until the day You call us home. Amen!

 

[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan]

One thought on “May 7, 2012 – Who Am I?

  1. Yes, when He says no it is because there is something greater. That is hard to see at the time, but God always proves faithful. Amen to your prayer!My reading was in the Psalms today. Here is my FB post:Day 127~ God is really doing a work in my life right now. I realized today (well, really over the past few weeks) that God is taking me through a transformation season, and transformation seasons can be hard, they can be ugly and well, downright painful. In Psalm 12:8 David writes, “The wicked wander everywhere, and what is worthless is exalted by the human race.” As soon as I read that verse my mind immediately went to a verse in yesterday’s reading- Psalm 4:2 which says, “How long will you love what is worthless and pursue a lie?” Yep, that is it. That is what God has been hammering home to me, “How long are you going to love what is worthless?” These things that we exalt-power, wealth, status, approval, image and beauty,etc.-really are not what God exalts. He exalts humility, inward beauty, Christlikeness, walking in the fruit of the spirit. That is what I should be pursing, not the worthless things the world exalts as important. Through listening to a current sermon series by Pete Wilson called “Empty Promises” I have realized just how broken I still really am in so many areas. How much value I still place on things that are external as opposed to things that are internal. How much I still chose to serve other idols other than God alone (2 Kings 17:41). In yesterday’s sermon in the series Justin Davis said, “A lie believed as though it were truth carries the power of truth in our lives.” Isn’t that so powerful? Lies can have the same impact as truth if we believe them as truth. The only way to get out from under those is to replace them with God’s truth, renewing our minds and let God transform them (Romans 12:1-2). In this transformation season that is what I am doing. I am letting God heal places I didn’t even realize were still broken until these past couple of months and I am letting Him transform my heart. Psalm 19:7-8 said today, “The instruction of the LORD is perfect, renewing one’s life; the testimony of the LORD is trustworthy, making the inexperienced wise. The precepts of the LORD are right making the heart glad; the command of the LORD is radiant, making the eyes light up.” That’s my prayer, Lord renew my life with Your instruction. Make my heart glad. All the lies I believed as truth replace with Your absolute truth. May I not bow down to empty promises that are exalted by us, your fallen people, but instead bow down to only You. Amen.

Your thoughts?

