May 10th….God Desires Our Sincere Thanks….

I am still getting to immerse myself in the Psalms.  How wonderful!  The theme running through my readings today is Thanksgiving.  It spoke to me so much that I even posted a thanksgiving thought on my facebook status:  “Make Thankfulness your sacrifice to God”…

Have I ever thought of thankfulness as a sacrifice?  Maybe it is just that, when times are tough, challenges abound, and yet I can choose to be thankful in my sorrow, in my pain, in my confusion, in my discipline.  God tells us in Psalm 50:23 that “giving thanks is a sacrifice that truly honors Me”.  He doesn’t want our burnt offerings or ritual sacrifices.  He already owns all of the bulls, the barns, the crops, the forests, the hills.  He owns it all.  What are we truly sacrificing when we sacrifice things that He has ownership of already?  But…to surrender our hearts and sacrifice to the One True God of the Universe our thanksgiving and praise….that gives Him the honor that He deserves!

“We thank You, O God!  We give thanks because You are near” (Psalm 75:1)  “But as for me, I will always proclaim what God has done;  I will sing praises to the God of Jacob”(Psalm 75: 9)  Look and see what God has done and is doing; and we can be assured that he will faithfully continue to do so for us, His beloved ones.  Amen, and amen.

 

Morgen

One thought on “May 10th….God Desires Our Sincere Thanks….

  1. Amen, indeed!    "But…to surrender our hearts and sacrifice to the One True God of the Universe our thanksgiving and praise….that gives Him the honor that He deserves!" Hmm, that is true. He does own everything. Everything, that is, except our hearts – those He doesn't have unless we choose to give it to Him. Wow. That is powerful. This is going to stay with me for a while. Thank you for opening that up for me, Morgen. <3,G&P

Your thoughts?

