May 14, 2012 – When You Lose Your Way

The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life.
    I will advise you and watch over you. Psalm 32:8

 

My last few posts have been extolling the virtues of David. Lest we think he is perfect, God chose to include the sordid episode with Bathsheba and Uriah (adultery! murder!) to give us the whole picture of the man. Many commentators say that if only David was where he was supposed to be – 2 Sam 11:1 “In the beginning of the year, the time when kings go out to battle…” (I didn’t know they scheduled these things) – he would not have been on that rooftop, walking around bored with nothing to do but look around.  The enemy, ever so cunning, strikes when we resting  and complacent but most often when we are outside God’s will. 

 

These Psalms written were after Nathan confronted David with his sin. Some say this was a year after the Bathsheba episode.  David was carrying his unrepented sin for that long no wonder he  sounded like he was drowning. Therefore let everyone who is godly offer prayer to you at a time when you may be found; surely in the rush of great watersthey shall not reach him. Psalm 32:6

 


I never noticed it before but in verses 8 -9 there is a shift in the narration. It is as if the Lord Himself answered him. David was not perfect. But once he offered repentance for his sin, God Himself spoke. God will do the same for us. There are days when we will fail – knowingly or unknowingly, by chance or by our own volition. Forgiveness is always available, if there is true repentance. Then we wait for God to speak.

 

 Many sorrows come to the wicked,
    but unfailing love surrounds those who trust the Lord.
 So rejoice in the Lord and be glad, all you who obey him!
    Shout for joy, all you whose hearts are pure! Psalm 32:10-11

 

 [Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan]

One thought on “May 14, 2012 – When You Lose Your Way

  1. Short on time today girls…this is a busy week. Will gets out of school on Friday and I am soaking in all the study time I can possibly get between now and then!! Here is my post from FB for today’s reading:Day 134~ Psalm 103I love Psalm 103. It has always been one that has meant a lot to me through the years in different seasons. A couple of years ago when I started this journey to figure out what was wrong with my health and why I could never get well Psalm 103:5 in the NKJV was a passage I hung onto. It says, “Who satisfies your mouth with good things.” I so needed God to satisfy my mouth with good things considering the root of all my problems was my diet. I needed satisfaction in veggies and whole foods and not sugar and junk. It was a scripture I hung onto for dear life as I started to make the transition to how I need to eat now for the rest of my life (and when I don’t I get sick like I did just these past few weeks!).Today I decided to read Psalm 103 in God’s Word Translation. The same verse, verse 5, was the one I gravitated to again. In this translation the passage says, “the one who fills your life with blessings.” It all is from Him. James 1:16-17 says, “My dear brother and sisters, don’t be fooled. Every good present and every perfect gift comes from above, from the Father who made the sun, moon and stars. The Father doesn’t change like the shifting shadows produced by the sun and moon.” He fills our life with blessings, all things are from Him. The Greek word that is used for “perfect” in this verse is teleios. It describes that “which has achieved or reached its goal, objective, or purpose.” Somethings that come at us in this life may not seem like blessings or they may not feel like perfect gifts, but God’s gifts are perfect because they are perfecting us. They are sent to achieve a goal or an objective. Beth Moore says, “Out of God’s astounding grace, a very imperfect person can still receive a delightfully perfect gift precisely because it’s perfect for her. God’s gifts are given with goals. They’re perfect because they’re perfecting. They don’t just give today. They give toward every tomorrow.” (James, Mercy Triumphs)I can praise God today, like David, that God fills my life with blessings. Even those I might now want to particularly see as a blessing, really are. They are because they are accomplishing a far greater work towards Christlikeness in me than I would have known otherwise. I would not have chosen on my own to live this life of being gluten, dairy, sugar and caffeine free (that’s why I struggle so much with staying on my diet) but I know it is a perfect gift from God to me. It makes me dependent on Him daily. He fills my life with blessings and He satisfies my mouth with good things! Today I praise Him with all my soul, with everything in me, I praise His Holy Name (Ps 103:1-2)

Your thoughts?

