Untitled

“Solomon also built a palace for himself, and it took him thirteen years to complete the construction.”  1 Kings 7:1

As I read through today’s verses I was struck by the detail of the building of the temple.  The temple was built according to the Lord’s plan just as the purpose of each of our temples (our bodies) is to be “built” to be a residence for the Holy Spirit to dwell.  It caused me to think about how important the details of the construction of that building truly are, especially the foundation.

If you ask any contractor what he/she thinks is the most important part of a building truly is, they will most probably respond…a building is only as good as it’s foundation.  If the foundation is solid, the building will stand for a long time.  Foundation is everything, without it the building shifts, the structure sways and most importantly the building will never have the character that was intended for it.  The foundation for our “temple” is the Word of God.  The truth that we find housed in the Bible must be the bedrock of our worldview, it must shape our thinking and we must daily renew our mind with its timeless truths.  When we “move away” from that daily dose of mortar our foundation crumbles and cracks, the cracks spread until all that is left is an empty shell.  That empty shell is now vulnerable to pests, weeds, and ultimately total destruction.  I’ve been victim recently to allowing my daily time with the Lord to take a “backseat” to other priorities…the result was anger, frustration, bitterness and envy…all symptoms of Satan creeping into the crevices of what once housed the Word of God. 

What I now know is that my faith needs to be what defines me and that God through His Word is the foundation upon which I need to build my life.  A. W. Tozer said, “What I believe about God is the most important thing about me.”  Faith is not blind; faith is built upon truth.  Our faith as followers of Jesus is built on the sure foundation of the Scriptures.  That foundation is strong and will never crumble.

Blessings,

Mary Ann

2 thoughts on “Untitled

  1. AMEN and AMEN Mary Ann!!! I loved the quote from the sermon this weekend at Cross Point. Pastor Davis said, “Insecurity worries more about other’s behavior than it does about the state of my own heart.” That hit me like a ton of bricks because that is what I have been walking through lately. Too busy worrying about what other’s think and say about the decisions we have made instead of making sure my own heart was right in this whole process. It goes back to what you said, my foundation. If I KNOW that I am in the Word, I know that I am praying, I know that I am seeking God then my foundation is solid and no matter what other’s say or do it’s not my concern. I have to worry about my own heart. It was a big shift for me this week and I have been more open about these decisions now with others when they ask. I know I am seeking God for my family, although it is more challenging to find time to read and pray with Will off of school now 🙂 But I am making it a point everyday even if it is only a few minutes. Love, Brandee

  2. MA…I believe that we all have times where we get “off” in our Bible study and prayer. I know I sure do. It’s a marathon, and not a sprint. Get back on the track and move forward. Lessons are learned wherever we may be on the journey. Aren’t you glad that you have Jesus as your compass to get you on the right course? All we need do is look to Him.Morgen

Your thoughts?

