May 24th…Psalm 110…Jesus is the Messiah!

Psalm 110 speaks of Jesus.  Jesus the Messiah.  His credentials are all there.  Take a listen:

1″The Lord said to my Lord, Sit in the place of honor at My right hand until I humble Your enemies, making them a footstool under Your feet.

2The Lord will extend Your powerful kingdom from Jerusalem, You will rule over Your enemies.

3When You go to war, Your people will serve You willingly.  You are arrayed in holy garments, and Your strength will be renewed each day like the morning dew.

4The Lord has taken an oath and will not break His vow; You are a priest forever in the order of Melchizedek.

5The Lord stands at Your right hand to protect you.  He will strike down many kings when His anger erupts.  

6He will punish the nations and fill their lands with corpses; He will shatter heads over the whole earth.

7But He Himself will be refreshed from brooks along the way.  He will be victorious.

 

Many people believe in God, but consider Jesus only a “good teacher”.  The Bible does not allow that option.  Both Old and New Testaments proclaim the deity of The One Who came and saved us.  Jesus spoke of this psalm (in Mark 12)  when He explained that it spoke of the Messiah as greater than David.  Peter (in Acts 2) uses this Psalm to show that Jesus our Messiah sits at God’s right hand and is Lord over everything.  There is no buts about it;  the Bible clearly calls Jesus Lord.

 

Who do You call Lord?

Morgen

 

2 thoughts on “May 24th…Psalm 110…Jesus is the Messiah!

  1. Morgen,When I first became a believer I thought how hard it was for someone to realize one needs a Savior. I didn't realize that that was the easy part. Making Jesus as the Lord of my life is much harder because of my sinful nature. I'm so thankful that God does not give up on us.

  2. I agree T, it can be very hard but so worth it when we do bow our stubborn knees. I still have places I struggle with daily to bow to Him. My reading was when Solomon blessed the temple and the people right after the temple’s completion. Here is my FB post:Day 144~ “May the LORD our God be with us as He was with our ancestors. May He not abandon us or leave us so that He causes us to be devoted to Him, to walk in all His ways, and to keep His commands, statutes, and ordinances, which He commanded our ancestors.” 1 Kings 8:57-58God’s active participation is required for His people to be faithful to Him. Isn’t that so true? Without God’s help we can’t follow Him. I think about all the things that try to pull me in another direction and there really is no hope without Him guiding and leading, without His Spirit inside bending us towards Him. The phrase “causes us to be devoted” literally means “causes our hearts to be inclined” (HCSB notes). He causes our hearts to bend towards Him and His ways, even though the world is pulling at us as well. The well quoted scripture 2 Chronicles 7:14-15 in today’s reading, “My people who are called by My name humble themselves, pray and seek My face, and turn from their evil ways, then I will hear from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land. My eyes will now be open and My ears attentive to prayer from this place,” shows us how we can so easily go the other way without God help. This passage is not talking about those in the world who are not following God, but those of us who claim to. We need to humble ourselves and turn and seek His face if we want our land healed. It takes daily submitting to the Holy Spirit, letting Him draw our hearts to be inclined to Him. You will guard him and keep him in perfect and constant peace whose mind [both its inclination and its character] is stayed on You, because he commits himself to You, leans on You, and hopes confidently in You. So trust in the Lord (commit yourself to Him, lean on Him, hope confidently in Him) forever; for the Lord God is an everlasting Rock [the Rock of Ages]. Isaiah 26:3-4 AMP

Your thoughts?

