May 25, 2012

Psalms 21 – As I read this Psalms each day aloud, I decided to insert my name as if I was David speaking to the Lord. I turned it into a prayer and here is what I got. Please as you read, insert your name and offer up a prayer to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ! I have shared my thoughts and mediations in parenthesis as I read this Psalms. May you be blessed as I am each time I have read this Psalm. 

O Lord, I rejoice in your strength. (Think of the strength of the Lord and all He has done in your life. Meditate on how faithful He has been since the beginning of time)

How great is my joy in the victories You give. (What victories has the Lord given you just this week alone? Reflect on the victories over the last month, over the last year?)

You have granted me the desires of my heart and not withheld the requests of my lips. (What desires of your heart has the Lord been faithful to bring about? It may not have been how you received your desires but He was listening and working on our behalf when we didn’t even know it)

You welcomed me with rich blessings and placed a crown of pure gold on my head. (What blessing has He bestowed upon you?)

I asked you for life and You gave it to me – length of days, forever and ever. (Imagine heaven, no more tears, no more sorrow, just pure joy)

Through the victories You gave, my glory is great. You have bestowed on me splendor and majesty. Surely You have granted me eternal blessing and made me glad with the joy of Your presence. (The victories we have allow us to glorify Jesus on this earth. How often do we do that? Are we thankful for His presence this morning?) 

For, I, trust in the Lord; throught the unfailing love of the Most High I will not be shaken. (What is the Lord asking me to trust Him with that I am withholding? What have I trusted Him with and have remained unshaken, stable?)

Your Hand will lay hold of all your enemies. Your right hand will seize your foes. As the time of your appearing you will make them like a fiery furnace. (What enemies are we trying to battle in our own strength and not in the strength and faithfulness of our Lord?)

In His wrath, The Lord will swallow them up and his fire will consume them. You will destroy their descendants from the earth, their posterity from mankind. (Jesus is coming back! The thought of that gives me chills and a strength that soars to new heights ever time I think about it)

Thought they plot evil against you and devise wicked schemes, they cannot succeed. For you will make them turn their backs when you aim at them with drawn bow.

Be exalted, O Lord, in Your strength. I will sing and praise Your might. (Let’s exalt Our Lord, singing and praising Him with all of our might!)

Have a blessed day,

Bethany  

One thought on “May 25, 2012

  1. Bethany,It's amazing what the Word will reveal if only we slow down and savor it. The idea of personalizing it is something that I have forgotten. Thank you for that reminder. I will go back and savor and even share what you wrote.  Thank you.

Your thoughts?

