Waiting

“Joyful are those who listen to me, watching for me daily at my gates, waiting for me outside my home!”  Proverbs 8:34

I’m not sure about any of you but my greatest vice is impatience.  I struggle daily with a dislike for waiting.  It has also become abundantly clear to me that one of the most challenging exhortations of Scripture is “wait” but that waiting is a vital element in life. 

Stormie Omartian writes that “the Bible teaches that waiting for Him is actually a blessing in our lives.  Proverbs 8:34 tells us clearly that we are blessed when we listen to God and watch and wait daily at His doors.  Ms. Omartian asks the question of how does God use times of waiting to bless us? 

  • When life’s circumstances delay us from “our” goals it might be to build our faith because as the New Testament teaches us “faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see” (Hebrews 11:1).  When we are forced to wait, our faith becomes stronger.
  • God might use the time of waiting as a time to build our character as we wait for the character of Christ to be formed in us.  “and we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit”  (2 Corinthians 3:18)
  • God may be teaching us how to be patient.  He has promised that we will be “strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully giving thanks to the Father”  (Colossians 1:11-12)

J. Hampton Keathley gives some practical concepts about the essentials of “waiting on the Lord”.

  • Waiting necessitates the passage of time.
  • Waiting means confident expectation – this is why the Hebrew word qavah  is sometimes translated “hope”.
  • Watiting involves an expectation of knowledge and trust – without knowlege we simply won’t wait without anxiety.
  • Waiting involves negatives and positives – it involvees what we do, what we are not to do, and what happens to us.
  • Waiting involves seeking the Lord – this means time in the Word, time in prayer and time meditating.
  • Waiting involves taking action at the right time.
  • Waiting involves resting in God’s timing.  Rest is such a beautiful thing!
  • Waiting means trusting in God and His goodnes..
  • Waiting teaches us to be content with God’s provision and timing.

“God loves us, so our times of waiting on Him must be ultimately beneficial to our emotional and spiritaul growth.  The next time you are tempted to become restless during a time of waiting on God, use that time instead to praise God for all the benefits and blessings that He has in store for you.  And don’t forget to thank Him that His timing is perfect.”  Stormie Omartian.

Blessings,

Mary Ann

3 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. I hear ya, Mary Ann! The lack of patience is where I get tripped up most of the time. I like running on ahead of God thinking I can do better. Talk about prideful….Impatience breeds not only discontent but also worry and anxiety. If I trust God for my salvation, which is of far more importance, why can't I trust Him with my measly day to day? 

  2. I love this MA, because this is an area I struggle in so much. I was just telling my son yesterday that we both have to learn to be patient. He wants a dog so bad he can’t stand it! I want other things (NOT a dog, lol). The proverbs are really speaking to me so much these past few days and I know that in everything I have to trust God’s timing and His plan. We were talking about this over on the Facebook page yesterday and this is what I wrote in response to one of the ladies who quoted Isaiah 40:31:ever I hear or read this verse I always think of the Esther study by Beth Moore. She said something in there about Isa 40:31 that I will never forget. She said that it is when we are waiting for the event to happen we will loose our strength, but when we are waiting on the Lord expectantly is when our strength is renewed. The longer we wait, the more God is working. Never is God inactive in our wait time. In another session she also said that not only are we waiting, God is waiting as well. If we know that what is on our hearts (Psalm 37:4) is from Him then we have to be patient. We wait and we trust knowing that He is waiting for a specific reason. Like you said, His plan. Proverbs 13:12 in the reading today says, “Delayed hope makes the heart sick, but fulfilled desire is a tree of life.” A commentary I have says, “people can bear frustration only so long, they must have encouragement to continue.” This encouragement comes from God and others who may have walked that path before. We never know who will come after us that needs us to walk through whatever God is walking us through. I am learning patience and that He has everything under His control 🙂

Your thoughts?

