Discipline June 1st

The life of a twelve year old boy, the perspective of a child whose father has left the home to begin another, the hurt and anger that is left confined within the home a father was to love, protect and lead. What to do with a twelve year old boy that has been left? What does he do with the anger, the unforgiveness, the bitterness, the confusion, the heartache? How does a mother put it into perspective for him when she herself doesn’t understand. She sees the blessings but how does she to discipline her child when his actions are results of a father that has left, actions that are only a shadow of the father that left? 

Those are hard questions a mother must answer as the reality of the storm settles into every day life. The answers can only be found in The Word of God, in His sweet instruction book for our lives. What a fresh of breath air it brings, a comfort and security when answers seem to be everywhere but nowhere. Where nothing seems to speak to this aching mothers heart UNTIL she turns the pages and finds our Heavenly Father whispering to her spirit. 

Psalm 18:30-36 As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the Lord is flawless. He is a shield for all who take refuge in him. For who is God besides the Lord? And who is the Rock except our God? It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer. he enables me to stand on the heights. He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze. You give me your shield of victory, and your right hand sustains me; you stoop down to make me great. You broaden the path beneath me, so that my ankles do not turn. 

Our God never fails us nor forsakes us. The Proverbs I have been reading the last few days have given me hope. Proverbs 19:18 – Discipline your child while there is hope. Otherwise you will ruin their lives. Proverbs 29:17 – Discipline your children and they will give you peace of mind and will make your heart glad. Proverbs 29:19 – Words alone will not discipline a servant, the words may be understood but they are not heeded. 

Discipline is my word for 2012. I thought I was applying it to myself so I would become more disciplined and that would be my focus for 2012. That is the case but little did I know God had another dimension to the word I was unprepared for in January. He has loved me with an everlasting love and He has drawn me with loving kindness. May I allow God’s truth to saturate my spirit and spill over into the lives of my children as we walk this journey God is leading. As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord! For He is our refuge and our ever present help in trouble. 

May God bless each of you and your families this weekend, 
Hugs and love, 
Bethan  
2 thoughts on “Discipline June 1st

  1. Leaving my FB post real quick…be back later to read the post :)Day 152~ Reading Proverbs 17-19Any Proverb stand out to anyone today? Two themes that stood out to me were the power of words and also being patient. Ours words- 18:2 “A fool does not delight in understanding, but only wants to show off his opinions.” So many times we can speak our opinions about stuff but really don’t know what is going on in the hearts of others. Sometimes we need to take the time to understand others before telling our opinions, we might not know the whole story (speaking from experience here! 😉 ) In contrast, we can use our words for wisdom, “The words of a man’s mouth are deep waters, a flowing river, a fountain of wisdom” (18:4). God has been imbedding in my brain lately the fact that I can have a lot of knowledge and still not have wisdom. Wisdom is when we apply the truths of God that we know. We can know a lot about the Bible but are we living it? Are we like the man James describes who looks into the Word then just forgets what it says without doing it (1:22-25). Wisdom applies what we learn to situations, which leads me to what else God showed me about patience. “A person’s insight gives him patience, and his virtue is to overlook an offense” (19:11). Again, we don’t know people’s hearts and what is going on and if we do our job is to pray. God will give us insight as we pray, seek Him through His Word and obey. That insight helps us be patient in our wait times. Proverbs 14:29 says, “A patient person shows great understanding, but a quick-tempered one promotes foolishness.” 10:12b says, “…love covers all offenses.” In love we are patient. In love we are kind, not selfish, do not keep a record of wrongs. In love we bear all things, believe all things, hope all things and endure all things (1 Corinthians 13:4-7). We are patient and we love, we trust God. We take our knowledge and apply it and become wise. We are transformed. Which isn’t that God’s goal all along? 1 Peter 1:6-7, “You rejoice in this, though now for a short time you have had to struggle in various trials so that the genuineness of your faith —more valuable than gold, which perishes though refined by fire —may result in praise, glory, and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

  2. Bethany,My heart feels so very sad. My prayer for that 12 year old boy is that he will base his worth, not on the father who abandoned him, but on the Father who loves him unconditionally – the One who will never leave him nor forsake him. Psalm 27:10 Even if my father and mother abandon me, the LORD will hold me close. May the Lord hold each of you close today. (((HUGS)))G&P

Your thoughts?

