Meaningful vs. Meaningless

“Everything is meaningless,” says the Teacher, “completely meaningless!”  Ecclesiastes 1:2

Do you ever wonder what life is all about?  I have to admit that there are times that I have not only wondered but thrown up my hands in desperation, second guessing the turns that my life had taken.  I was pleased to see that even Solomon, questioned the meaning of life.  He starts out the book of Ecclesiastes with  “everything is meaningless”.

So the bigger question becomes what will make our lives more meaningful?  There are “things” that if neglected will make our life empty, meaningless and wasted but if we do those “things” our life is fulfilled, happy and with purpose.  The first and most important “thing” is to discover God and to grow our relationship with Him.  Rick Warren in The Purpose Driven Church  says that “Genuine spiritual maturity includes having a heart that worships and praises God.”  Jesus when asked what the greatest command in all Scripture was stated, “You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.”  Clearly no matter how successful we are, or how wealthy we become, if we don’t have a loving relationship with Jesus our life will be empty and unfulfilled.  When our lives are empty we try to fill them with “stuff”, unfortunately “stuff” never fills the void that only God can fill.  Jesus is right next to us if we seek Him out, in fact He states…”Here I am!  I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.  To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne.”  Revelation 3:20-21

The second “thing” necessary for a meaningful life is to build and enjoy loving relationships with others…after all no man is an island.  We were created to love and Jesus said, the second most important think God requires of you is to love others.  “Love your neighbor as yourself.”  Matthew 22:39  God will always direct us into church and family because we need others, we need to learn to love others and learn to enjoy fellowship with others.

The third “thing” is using our gifts and talents in service to others.  God gives each of us special gifts and abilities but sometimes because of our own feelings of inferiority or low self-esteem we don’t act on those gifts.  So many times we try to fit the mold of what others want for us instead of acting on the purpose for which we were created.  Others don’t have our best interests at heart, only God does…He alone will always direct us but we must listen.

A meaningful life is within reach but it requires us to develop a heart that loves God, one that creates loving relationships and using our gifts as God destined them to be used. 

Blessings,

Mary Ann

3 thoughts on “Meaningful vs. Meaningless

  1. Amen, Mary Ann! When God granted wisdom to Solomon He said (1 Kings 3:12)  I will give you what you asked for! I will give you a wise and understanding heart such as no one else has had or ever will have! (NLT) We neeed to heed the words of the wisest man who ever lived – especially what he learned at the end of Ecclesiastes. Solomon had it all: wisdom, wealth and prestige. During his reign Israel also had peace – yet there were times when he had nagging doubts, too.  When we are consumed with our worries, we have to remember that God is much, much bigger. I'm reading the book Crazy Love by Francis Chan and I want to share this video called The Awe Factor of God. Seeing it puts things in perspective for me. Have a blessed day!<3,G&P

  2. I read what you wrote early this morning and it went along with so much of what I was thinking too. It was before bed last night I finally was able to read. A week that we didn’t have anything to do has turned into a really busy week where we are going to be gone everyday. I think in the summer some days are just going to have to be reading at night. Here is what I wrote on FB. We were definitely on the same page today!It was 8:30 last night before I was able to read our reading for the day. As soon as I read the first few verses in 1 Kings 11 my thoughts went to Casting Crowns song “Slow Fade.” The steps we can take slowly away from God that lead to our downfall, our destruction. We’ve been reading about Solomon and all the wise things he said, but even after all that wisdom and all that God had blessed him with he let the slow fade set in and his wives pulled him away from his God.We all have things that can cause us to go down that slow fade route. We know from 1 Corinthians 10:13 that nothing tempts us that doesn’t tempt others, just for each of us that can be different things. Solomon realized though that all these things that cause us to move away from God really are not worth it. They are all futile and everything “under the sun” set against eternity has no lasting value. What has value is our relationship with God and with others. The only thing we can take with us when we leave this place is other people, people whose lives we have impacted and know Christ. Relationships matter and God’s purpose for us in this life will be to effect others so that they will come with us into eternity. He put eternity in our hearts (Ecc 3:11) and we long for that place and we long for others to know Christ so they will be there as well. So many times we will try to fill our longing for eternity and for God with other things. In then end though they will all pass away.Today let’s be on guard about the things that pull us away from the Lord. Those little choices day by day that pull us from God. These things might seem small, but over time we are in a place we never thought we’d be, so far from our God and His plan for our life.The journey from your mind to your handsIs shorter than you’re thinkingBe careful if you think you standYou just might be sinking~Mark Hall, Slow Fade

  3. Today I found that the journey from my mind to my tongue is shorter yet! Yikes! Forgive me Father, for once again, I sin. Thank You for turning my crimson stain as white as snow. I love You Lord, with all of my heart.Morgen

Your thoughts?

