June 7th…Proverbial Death

Studying  Proverbs is actually a slow read for me.  It seems like I have to go over each line more than once to really let the meaning sink in.  When it does;  I recognize alot of wisdom there.  Thank you Solomon for putting your thoughts onto paper;  and thank You Lord that You decided to inspire Solomon and  make these Words sacred.

From my reading today;  the verse that stuck with me the most was Proverbs 14:12.  It reads:  “There is a path before each person that seems right, but it ends in death.”

This “path that seems right” may offer a lot of options, but require very little from us.  Is this path attractive because I can be lazy if I follow it?  Does it require me to use moral restraints?  Usually the true path, the right path requires hard work and self sacrifice.

The words “seems right” should come with a flashing warning sign.  That is how I read them anyway.  Does anyone else ever get that inner warning that goes off when a situation “seems right” but something tells you that it just isn’t quite right? 

The death that is spoken of here can be eternal death.  But I think it also can mean the death of something.  The death of a relationship.  The death of a job.  The death of financial security.  The death of joy.  The list goes on and on.  What am I choosing to do, or not to do today that will result in the death of something precious and good?  

Lord, I ask You to help each one of us to abide fully in You.  Show us where we are on wrong paths, and guide our steps onto the path where You lead.  We choose life in everything we do, say, and think.  amen.

 

Morgen

 

2 thoughts on “June 7th…Proverbial Death

  1. So true, Morgen. I need to really, really remember that my choices now affect my tomorrows. Yes, it's so tempting to fall in to doing what's easy. For instance, and this is purely hypothetical 🙂 ~ What's easy: Eating ice cream (Magnum almond for instance) What's hard:  Exercising (I don't have time. It's too hot. I don't feel like it. I need another ice cream). The result is evident – in my head. Why do I still choose what's easy sometimes?  More to ponder…. 

  2. So true Morgen, Amen! My reading was in Ecclesiastes and the verse that stood out to me goes right along with what you are saying. Here is my post for the day:”The heart of the wise is in a house of mourning, but the heart of fools is in a house of pleasure.” Ecc 7:4Several references I read mentioned this verse in the context of attending a funeral (citing the previous three verses before it) saying , “the truly wise give attention to to the fact of death. Funerals should sober us to the reality of death and encourage us to live well and happily” (HCSB notes). But what if we look at this verse along side James 4:9-10 which says, “Be miserable and mourn and weep. Your laughter must change to mourning and your joy to sorrow. Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will exalt you.” Are there times our joy needs to be sorrow? That to be wise is to be in mourning? Yes. As Beth Moore asks in her James study, “When is it appropriate to turn our joy into gloom (sorrow)?”1. When we have consciously traded the joys of the Lord for the highs of the world. James 4:4 says, “Whoever DECIDES to be the world’s friend makes himself God’s enemy” (NET). What does this mean? It means we decide to not look any different than the world. We decide that we are going to live pursuing something worldly rather than pursuing the Most High. Examples are food, clothes (that’s my personal weakness!), pleasure, entertainment. Beth says it’s when we have the Spirit of God in us, but we don’t look any different, when the line has been crossed. This is a time for mourning, a time to humble ourselves and admit our sin and go back to God. Like I said yesterday, it can be subtle but before we know it we have crossed the line. Satan is so sneaky that way huh?2. When we don’t take God seriously. Here God is saying to us, “Do you think I’m not serious when I tell you to do something? Do you think I’m not serious when I say ________.” We can fill in the blanks with all kinds of things. Do we think God’s not serious when he says do not let the sun go down on our anger (Eph 4:26)? Why would He say that? Because He knows that it can grow into a root that imbeds deep into our hearts. A root is a lot harder to pull up, especially if it has a lot of tendrils coming off of it. Do we think God’s not serious when He says store up treasures in heaven instead of on earth? Yes, because He knows where our treasures are, there our hearts will be (Matthew 6:19-21). The blank can be so many different things that each of us struggle with personally. 3. When we’re arrogant in or about our sin.4. When ridiculing sincere believers is our idea of hilarious. God takes seriously how we treat one another. Sometimes it is wise to have a heart that mourns. We humble ourselves before God and He will exalt us. I know I don’t want to always stay in a place of joy if it means I am walking as a fool.

Your thoughts?

