Learning to Listen

“Then Jehosphaphat added, ‘But first let’s find out what the LORD says.'”  1 Kings 22:5

A very wise friend once said to me that God’s will is not seen in the busyness of our days but in the quiet time that we spend in His Word.  God communicates to us through His Word, it is God’s instruction book for us.  His Scripture holds all the answers that we need to deal with all of the problems that we encounter every day, but are we listening?  I had to ask myself that question just the other day and I wondered just what type of listener I am…

  • Am I a passive listener?  Do I sit in a church service or read the Bible never giving a second thought to what God is saying through His teachers?  Am I only going through the motions.
  • Am I a selective listener?  Do I only hear what I want to hear?  Do I pick and choose what I like and don’t like in Scripture?  Do I “skim” over the difficult passages?
  • Am I an aggressive listener?  Do I seek to hear diligently what it is that God has to say?  Am I like the Berean Christians or Thessalonians…”Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.”  Acts 17:11

Today, I will strive to be the aggressive listener, how about you?

Blessings,

Mary Ann

3 thoughts on “Learning to Listen

  1. Right off the bat, Mary Ann, I was already convicted!  But first let's find out what the LORD says. "What the LORD says" not what "I feel."  I often act on the latter instead of the former. May we not only be aggressive listeners but also aggressive doers of the Word. Great food for thought today, sister.

  2. Selective, that would be me so many times. So often I will let my emotions dictate. G&P I relate, what I feel. Today’s story about Jehoshaphat is one I LOVE! It has so much truth in it and one I have read over and over again these past few months. Here is my FB post for today:Day 164~ LOVE this story of Jehoshaphat today! It gives us such a clear picture of what to do when those trials and battles are in our lives and we just don’t know how to handle them. Jehoshaphat was being invaded, enemies were surrounding him. He was afraid, but he shows us a clear picture of what to do when the trials seem to big for us and seem to surround us. We stop and bend our knee to God and seek Him through prayer and fasting. The Bible clearly says that he was afraid (2 Chron 20:3) but he didn’t let his fears let him make bad decisions, instead he took those fears to God and let God be bigger than his fears.God tells him, “this battle is not yours but mine (vs15). You do not have to fight this battle. Position yourself and stand still and you will see my salvation (vs17).” I know so many times when I position myself to fight these battles it is in worry, it is in the position of what can I do to fix this problem or make it better, but God doesn’t say that. He says instead to position myself before Him, bend the knee and let Him fight, just as Jehoshaphat did (vs 5-12). When he prayed he acknowledged God’s:-sovereignty (6)-covenant (7-8)-presence (8-9)-goodness (10)-possession (11)-and their utter dependence on Him (12)We can take this same pattern and apply it to any trial we find ourself in today. Today I pray you will take the time in a journal or just in some alone time with God and sit before Him using this pattern and let Him fill you with peace and courage that He’s got this, whatever it is you are facing. He is sovereign over all, even though we so often doubt His plans when we can’t see what He’s doing. He made a covenant with us that we are His chosen daughters. Our lives are in His hands. His presence is with us, He promised to never leave us or forsake us. He is good. He can’t be anything but good and He will work all things out for our good in the end, even if what we are going through is not good. We are His, written on the palm of His hand. Our role is dependence. Declare that in this situation and trial you are utterly dependent on Him. Whatever it is you are walking through today He wants to show His glory and He will when we depend on Him and not on ourselves. The people went out to battle having prepared their hearts through prayer and with a mouth that declared God’s praise (vs 21-22). When they praised the battle was won. There was so much plunder it took 3 days to gather it all (vs 25). Praise God, pray and give it to Him whatever you are walking through. The end result will be His glory and plunder that will spill out of your life, not just for you, but for others as well. So much it will take days to gather it all up.

Your thoughts?

