June 25, 2012 – Nevertheless

Nevertheless, for David’s sake the LORD his God gave him a lamp in Jerusalem, setting up his son after him, and establishing Jerusalem, because David did what was right in the eyes of the LORD and did not turn aside from anything that he commanded him all the days of his life, except in the matter of Uriah the Hittite.
(1 Kings 15:4-5 ESV)

 

 

My son turns 21 today. Society says he can now legally drink and buy lottery tickets. His mother hopes he won’t waste his grey matter and limited college budget on either. 

 

1 Kings 15 is about the kings of Judah. In 3 out of the 4 mentioned, they all did evil in the eyes of the Lord. David has been dead for a long time but God still honored him. I find that astounding. Even though his sons did evil, for David’s sake, the Lord was merciful. I’m glad of that because parenting is hard!

 

Last week I was in Proverbs and I came upon a verse in chapter 27 regarding tending to a fig tree. I read Matthew Henry’s commentary and read it from the perspective of a parent. 

 

This is designed to encourage diligence, faithfulness, and constancy, even in mean employments. Though the calling be laborious and despicable, yet those who keep to it will find there is something to be got by it. 1. Let not a poor gardener, who keeps the fig-tree, be discouraged; though it require constant care and attendance to nurse up fig-trees, and, when they have grown to maturity, to keep them in good order, and gather the figs in their season, yet he shall be paid for his pains: He shall eat the fruit of it, 1 Co. 9:7. 2. Nay, let not a poor servant think himself incapable of thriving and being preferred; for if he be diligent in waiting on his master, observant of him and obedient to him, if he keep his master (so the word is), if he do all he can for the securing of his person and reputation and take care that his estate be not wasted or damaged, such a one shall be honoured, shall not only get a good word, but be preferred and rewarded. God is a Master who has engaged to put an honour on those that serve him faithfully,Jn. 12:26.

 

I don’t know what kind of prayers King David offered on behalf of his children. But I know God heard him. Mine can be summed up in these verses from Colossians 1:9-10: …Asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. I hope God hears me, too. That when I’m long gone and my future grandchildren find themselves in the wrong path, that it can be said: Nevertheless, for G&P’s sake the Lord her God will have mercy on them because she did what was right in the eyes of the Lord. 

 

I may not make the mark all the time but I’m trying.


[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan]

One thought on “June 25, 2012 – Nevertheless

  1. Amen G&P and Happy Birthday DS #1!! I got sooo much out of the reading today. Here is what I wrote on FB but my notebook is full of notes, a lot of them God’s word to me in some very personal things. I think you guys will figure out some of where they come from and some of the thoughts reading this post πŸ™‚ Day 176~ God has opened up the reading more this year than in previous years as far as how far the people had fallen and were worshiping their idols. God tried and tried to warn them and tell them though His prophets and those who were still faithful to come back to Him before it is too late. It just really has hit home how so very much we are like them and how our country, our world, is following the same path. God says come back to me but we instead keep on living our lives, living looking to things other than God and one day God will bring judgement. Sometimes that is what we need though as hard as it is. He tries to tell us and there comes a point He knows that it is going to take being broken to really get us to look to Him. I wish that it didn’t have to take brokenness to make us turn from pride and our self-sufficient ways, but it usually does. It takes us getting to the end of ourselves to realize we really do need God and can’t do it on our own. Whether or not we realize it, none of us can do it on our own and God doesn’t want us to. He wants us to come to Him. He says through Hosea, “She does not recognize that it is I who gave her the grain, the new wine, and the oil. I lavished silver and gold on her, which they used for Baal” (Hosea 2:8). All we have is from God’s hand whether we give him the praise or not. He equips us and blesses us, but just as easy as he blesses, it can all be taken away. Sometimes I get fearful of the taking away part. Scared of what it will take for pride to turn to humility, but through the fear I know that it will be worth it when the words, “I will praise You, LORD, although You were angry with me, Your anger has turned away, and You have had compassion on me. Indeed, God is my salvation, I will trust Him and not be afraid, for Yah, the LORD, is my strength and my song. He has become my salvation” (Isaiah 12:1-2). I sing to Yahweh for He has done glorious things! (Is 12:12:5). One other point that I wrote in my journal today is the overlap of the ministries of these prophets. God used more than one man to bring about His plan. Isaiah and Hosea’s ministry overlapped and Micah’s will overlap Isaiah as well in the coming weeks. Just as God used more than one man in our story, He still uses all of us today. We all have a part to play and just because we look and see God using someone in a great way doesn’t mean that He can’t use us. We all have a niche to fill and no one can fill the role we were made to play in His kingdom plan. At the “She Speaks” conference I always learn that it doesn’t matter if you are talking to 1, 100 or 1000, as long as it is where God wants you it is all important. To that one it may be the difference between living a life with God or living a life without Him. We can never underestimate the power of influence we have when we are submitted to the Lord in His will. Have a great day everyone. I will not be on here tomorrow. I am taking Will swimming in Bowling Green with one of my dear friends and her kids πŸ™‚

Your thoughts?

