July 12, 2012 – A Lesson in Grace

“Come now, let us reason together, says the LORD:
though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red like crimson,
they shall become like wool.
(Isaiah 1:18 ESV)


 

 am F-U-M-I-N-G mad.


Someone is being unreasonable. I mean really, if you were planning to go somewhere but God knocks you over the head (literally) while you were getting ready, wouldn’t you think that maybe, just maybe, God does NOT want you to go? The logical thing to do would be to rest and stay put. But, noooo, after resting for a few hours you went anyway.


Sigh. That was my frame of mind the whole day, mad and grumbling. Until I remembered the first line of the verse I chose for this post.


Come now let us reason togetherGod is asking us to draw closer to Him.


Think of God’s demeanor as He says this. He is not angry nor condemning, nor calling someone stupid even if that’s an accurate description. When someone asks you to come over, you would be gauging whether that person can be trusted. Or in a good mood. Depending on what you see, you either go forward or back away. 

 

Lesson 1: If I want to draw someone closer to me so we can reason together, it would help if my heart is right with God. (Duly convicted.)

 

Think of our state as He calls us – stained and drenched in sin. Running away from Him. Being disobedient. Doing our own thing. I was reminded of the article a good friend shared the other day on how God views sin – be it homosexuality or overeating. Big or small, in God’s eyes, sin is sin. 


Lesson 2:  Whether it’s going somewhere He doesn’t want you to go or eating one more ice cream bar He clearly does not want you to eat, sin is sin.

 

Instead of zapping us dead like we deserve, God calls us to reason together. He promises to cleanse us, white as snow if only we’ll come.  That just blows me away. The God who did this:



How unfathomable it is that God would even want to reason with us. To want to have a relationship with us. The Creator of the vast universe.  What reason do we have to say “no, I want to do it my way” to Him?


Lesson 3: If He extends that kind of grace to us, how can we withhold it from another fellow sinner?

 

Thank you, Father, for Your grace. How you give us a chance over and over again even if we deliberately disobey. You are quick to forgive and show mercy. We thank You for the gift of salvation, for giving us what we do not deserve. We humbly ask for your forgiveness when we act ugly towards one another, when we become judgmental instead of loving. Help us to show the same kind of grace and mercy to those around us so that they are not only drawn to us but to You – the source of our strength. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.


[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan]

2 thoughts on “July 12, 2012 – A Lesson in Grace

  1. I was pretty sure you saw me eat that slab of chocolate cake not an hour ago. Gluttony, rage, condemnation. I don’t think you missed any of my recently visited sins. And I expect to draw other people to God?!!! Duly convicted indeed. Thanks G&P for always clearing my befuddled brain and heart.Amen and amen.

  2. Joy,If I saw you then you probably saw me holding that second Magnum (mini – yes I can justify) ice cream bar. So the score is gluttony, check. Rage, check. Condemnation, check. We're even. 🙂 Sinner saved by grace,G&P

Your thoughts?

