September 17, 2012 – Lay it down

Then he said to me, “Fear not, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand and humbled yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words. (Daniel 10:12 ESV)

 

I couldn’t write this verse fast enough. It spoke to my heart so much I was almost in tears.

 

The last few weeks have been difficult. God showed me that there are still idols in my heart that I thought I gave up years ago. (Yes, pride) The enemy saw that opening and seized upon it. You know how it is – when it rains, it pours. Events just came together all menacing and threatening. Needless to say, I was a-frettin’ and a-worryin’ mess. “Twas not pretty.

 

Even in my sleep the enemy did not let up. The other night I had toe cramps.A bad one. I winced as I tried to fight it off. In my mind I knew that if I could just relax it would ease up. The problem is, my foot had trouble getting the message. So as I suffered and prayed, “Jesus, Jesus!” I heard this phrase in my head over and over again: Lay it down, lay it down. Finally, I felt the muscle relax I was able to lay my foot flat and relief finally came. As I drifted back to sleep, I knew God was speaking to me, not only about my foot but also about that idol. Because sometimes my heart also has trouble getting the message: Humble yourself – lay it all down. 

 

Lay it down, so you’re not all in a knot.

Lay it down and let Me work in the situation.

Lay it down, you are not in control.

 

So the succeeding days became an exercise in “laying it down.” It was difficult because, well, I’m a control freak. I like things just so. But I’m also a born again Christian who profess faith in Jesus Christ. And what is faith unless it’s tested?

 

As I focused on the main verse, words just jumped out:

 

set 

Strong’s H5414 – nathan

a) (Qal)

1) to give, bestow, grant, permit, ascribe, employ, devote, consecrate, dedicate, pay wages, sell, exchange, lend, commit, entrust, give over, deliver up, yield produce, occasion, produce, requite to, report, mention, utter, stretch out, extend

2) to put, set, put on, put upon, set, appoint, assign, designate

c) (Hophal)

1) to be given, be bestowed, be given up, be delivered up

2) to be put upon

 

heart

Strong’s H3820 – leb
לֵב

 inner man, mind, will, heart, understanding

 inner part, midst

 mind, knowledge, thinking, reflection, memory

 inclination, resolution, determination (of will)

 conscience

 heart (of moral character)

 as seat of appetites

 as seat of emotions and passions

 as seat of courage

 

understand
Strong’s H995 – biyn
בִּי

 to discern, understand, consider

(Hithpolel) to show oneself discerning or attentiveconsider diligently

(Polel) to teach, instruct

(TWOT) prudent, regard

 

humble 

Strong’s H6031 – `anah
 עָנָ
to be occupied, be busied with
 to afflict, oppress, humble, be afflicted, be bowed down
 to be put down, become low
 to humble, weaken oneself
                                                        (Hebrew definitions from www.blueletterbible.org)

 

That soon the main verse turned into: Then he said to me, “Fear not, [Grace & Peace], for from the first day that you set [gave over, yielded, stretched out, appoint, delivered up] your heart [mind, seat of appetites, seat of emotions and passions, inner part] to understand [discern, show oneself attentive, consider diligently] and humbled [to be put down, become low, weaken oneself] yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words. 

 

I had the hardest time with the “seat of my emotions” (oh and the “seat of appetites”) part. What I  learned is I can’t be in that seat anymore. I need to yield it over to God. To do so I have to humble myself so God’s strength can take over – because where we are weak, He is strong. I had to admit that I really could not do this on my own.

 

He knew it all along.

 

And you know what else I found out? I can only lay it down if I bend my knee. Toe. Heart. Same thing. To lay it down, you have to be on bended knees. 

 

[Reading from Blue Letter Bible – Chronological Plan] 

 

P.S. Since the night of the cramp, God had turned the situation around. I learned my lesson, Lord. That is to worship You and You alone. Do not depend on anything else. Thank you for Your faithfulness.
(Also, thanks for giving me the material for a blog post.)

 

Your thoughts?

